HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2000-4747, by Representatives Delvin, Romero, Thomas, Wensman and Hankins

WHEREAS, The Distributive Education Clubs of America, or DECA, an association of marketing students, is a student-centered organization whose program of leadership and personal development is designed specifically for students enrolled in marketing education programs, and is a cocurricular organization that serves as an important extension of classroom instruction; and

WHEREAS, DECA is the only student organization operating in all fifty states, the United States Territories, and Canada that attracts individuals to productive careers in marketing, management, and entrepreneurship; and

WHEREAS, DECA members understand the importance of the DECA Diamond, which includes leadership development, social intelligence, vocational understanding, and civic consciousness. DECA participants are leaders preparing for employment and community involvement; and

WHEREAS, DECA involves about eleven thousand students state-wide in skill-based educational programs, including classroom instruction, work-based learning, and community service; and

WHEREAS, DECA and Marketing Education supports the economy by preparing students for the workplace, improving employment opportunities for Washingtonians, and building students' self-esteem and confidence;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize the week of February 13, 2000, as "National DECA Week"; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to each high school student listed in this resolution who is a graduating senior and has completed three hundred sixty or more hours in the DECA program; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize the students from:

RICHLAND HIGH SCHOOL: Josh Snyder, Jason Jarrett, Mark Michael, Joe Roberts, Jackie Foss, Christina Grabner, Sarah Hendricksen, Bryan Payne, and Chad Bautch.

KAMIAKIN HIGH SCHOOL: Lee Adams, Shauna Aikele, Katherine Ashbeck, Janae Austin, Christine Babenko, Mike Baird, Kaelen Ball, Marti Bates, Jennifer Beckner, Jessica Bee, Brianne Bowen, Matt Bullis, Tyler Campbell, Jolene Carlson, David Dunn, Melissa Earls, Kyle Easley, Danae Ford, Kim Fulwyler, Angela Garcia, Jennifer Green, Bailie Jones, Tim Klees, Eric Kopp, Kris Lapp, Jerrod Lindblom, Craig Lindgren, John Lively, Tom Mengelos, Mande Moses, Chelsea Neer, Susan Older, Alex Parker, Luke Roloff, Lacey Scheuerlein, Hillary Sklinchar, Justin Strait, Kristen Titera, Steven White, Julie Wiberg, and Rischel Wright.

KENNEWICK HIGH SCHOOL: Vincent Sainz, Kevin Hatch, Ben Boleware, and Ezequiel Rivera.

PASCO HIGH SCHOOL: Sonny Virakpanyou, Amber King, Amy McKeown, Brooklynn Mitchell, Tyler Halliday, Daisy Moreno, Danielle Maki, Efren Ramos, Freddy Izaguirre, Guadalupe De La Mora, Joe May, John Mays, Juan Gonzales, Juli VanderSchoor, Kayla Williams, Kristina Sanchez, Lisa Monteagudo, Lydia Rivera, Mario Montez, Michael Towne, Mitchell Rodriguez, Nathanial Thompson, Rebecca Campbell, Ricky Salinas, Shaun Gleason, and Wesley Kerr.

GRANDVIEW HIGH SCHOOL: Julie Aquilera, Erika Donaldson, Lucas Fortune, Elena Garcia, Jessica Hanen, Tony Luper, Chelsea McPherson, Andrew Penwell, Willie Rodriquez, Sarah Smasne, Ronda Walker, Stephanie Whitney, Melissa Raymond, Lindsey Weddle, Jason Greene, Mekenna Schwisow, Melodie Ulsh, Jared Carpino, Miles Metter, and Souta Nozaka.

CAPITAL HIGH SCHOOL: Randi Aud, Jessie Baguley, Scott Barber, April Baumhofer, Crystal Beach, Jake Berschauer, Kara Bjorkland, Mollie Brogan, Lynsie Camus, Skyler Fulton, Katie Gillespie, Jonah Gross, Scott Issacson, Emily Kurz, Cory Leicht, Kyle Lentz, Sherilyn Lightner, Gina Marshall, Whitney May, Kris McIsaac, Katrina McMahon, Lilyana Phill, Jake Rothfels, Jill Sandberg, Barry Specht, Dana Stone, Joey Swanson, Thanh Tan, and Nick Thompson.

OLYMPIA HIGH SCHOOL: Angel Castillo, Stephanie Gregoire, Erin Thompson, Jackie Van Hoose, Makayla Hurd, Mila Abad, Trisha Adams, Alana Friedman, Kristi Young, Justin Peterson, and Lindsay Deskins.

RIVER RIDGE HIGH SCHOOL: Brooke Barnowe-Meyer, Anne Bosse, Timi Bryan, Heather Christian, Falynn Cocchi, Sarah Craig, Derek Estrada, Melissa Fleming, Kim Gravely, Amanda Guill, Doug Halvorson, Francesca Harris, Ceslee Horner, Nate Jensen, Matt Jones, Josh Korzilius, Amy Leeberg, Ashley Light, Nicole Mazikowski, Theresa Neri, Becky Payne, Larissa Plaquet, Justin Robbins, Cory Romito, Pov Sam, and Tonika Vickers.

TIMBERLINE HIGH SCHOOL: Jessica Beard, Brandy Blodgett, Jocelyn Campbell, Nikki Chatwood, Imani Davis, Robin Deligeannis, Lindsay Gray, Noelle Hubbard, Nichole Huffman, Brooke Jordan, Taylor Kinley, Nadia Krein, Alson Merten, Kristin Raben, Frank Smith, Mark Turner, and Adrianne Walker.

NORTH THURSTON HIGH SCHOOL: Marisa Hussey, Beth Havens, Ben Ford, Melanie Potter, Deanna Green, Meri Kirkwood, Marissa Jones, Naziroha Ahmath, Jennifer Sborov, and Laren Bell.

Timothy A. Martin, Co-Chief Clerk	Cynthia Zehnder, Co-Chief Clerk