HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2000-4787, by Representatives Mastin and Grant

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington State Legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor;

and

WHEREAS, The Touchet High School Indians Football Team exhibited the highest level of excellence in winning the 1999 Washington State High School "B-8" Championship, with a final championship game score of 42-36 over Neah Bay High School; and

WHEREAS, The Touchet High School Indians Football Team has an outstanding record, with the longest active winning streak (24 games) in the state of Washington, the 1999 "B-8" Championship being their second consecutive state championship and undefeated (12-0) season, their third state championship in the last six years, their fourth appearance in the state championship game in the last six years, and their fourth state championship overall; and

WHEREAS, The Touchet High School Indians Football Team demonstrated amazing skill and admirable sportsmanship in achieving these outstanding accomplishments; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Wayne Dickey and Assistant Coaches Gary Dorman, LeLand Weber, and Donny Weaver, and all the players share in the Touchet High School Football Team's success by combining outstanding coaching with outstanding playing; and

WHEREAS, The Touchet High School Indians Football Team includes: Nathan Carlisle, All State Defense, 1st Team All Conference, Most Improved; Jeremiah Schuetze, Honor Student; Steven Alexenko, Honor Student; Darren Riggle, Honor Student; Nick Jaggar; Jose Godinez; Timothy Dickey, All State Offense, 1st Team All Conference, letters in three sports, Honor Student; Gerardo Solis, 2nd Team All Conference; Nick Tucker, Honor Student; Lincoln Short; Andrew Corla, All State Defense, 2nd Team All Conference, Team Captain, letters in three sports, ASB President (two years), Yearbook editor, Honor Student; Eric Lomell; George Martinez; Adam Sumpter, All State Defense, 1st Team All Conference, Team Captain; William Fowler; Josh Burrowes; Sergio Pedroza; Johnny Brown, Honor Student; Brandon Ingham, All State Defense, 2nd Team All Conference, Iteris Plucker, Honor Student; Christopher Fowler; John Davis; Luis Pedroza; Jarrad Miller, Honor Student; Tim Wagoner, 1st Team All Conference, letters in three sports, Honor Student; Todd Slater, All State Offense and Defense, 1st Team All Conference, Team Captain, Most Inspirational, National Honor Society President (two years); Steve Hudson; Tim Henrichs; and Toby Slater; and

WHEREAS, All these extraordinary accomplishments could not have been achieved without the support and encouragement of all the students, cheerleaders, band members, faculty, staff, alumni, families, friends, community members, and fans who backed them all the way; and

WHEREAS, The inspiring individual and team achievements of the 1999 Touchet High School Indians Football Team will always be remembered when commemorating their winning year; and

WHEREAS, The victorious Touchet High School Indians Football Team is a source of great pride to all the citizens of the state of Washington;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor the 1999 Touchet High School Indians Football Team; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to the 1999 Touchet High School Indians Football Team Heid Coach Wayne Dickey, Touchet High School Principal Mark Heid, and School District Superintendent Dr. Samuel Gerla.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4787 adopted by the House of Representatives March 7, 2000.