## SENATE RESOLUTION 2000-8717

By Senators Goings, Oke, Rasmussen, Franklin, Wojahn, Eide, Winsley, Roach and Swecker

WHEREAS, The annual Daffodil Festival is a cherished tradition for the people of Pierce County and the Northwest; and

WHEREAS, 2000 marks the Sixty-Seventh annual Daffodil Festival; and

WHEREAS, The Festival began in 1926 as a modest garden party in Sumner, and grew steadily each year until 1934 when flowers, which previously had been largely discarded in favor of daffodil bulbs, where used to decorate cars and bicycles for a short parade through Tacoma; and

WHEREAS, The Festival's 2000 events are ongoing, and will culminate in the April 15, 2000, Grand Floral Street Parade, winding its way from downtown Tacoma through the communities of Puyallup, Sumner, and Orting; and

WHEREAS, This year's Festival royalty includes princesses Dawn Ainslie, Washington High School; Bobett Babcock, Eatonville High School; Moriah Blake, Lakes High School; Emily Chipps, Puyallup High School; Melissa Clapper, Clover Park High School; Mariana DeArmas, Lincoln High School; Brenna Foley, Curtis High School; Amy Hamel, Franklin Pierce High School; Anna Hasselblad, Wilson High School; Leslie Hauge, Fife High School; Cela Mamic, Rogers High School; Megan McFadden, Bethel High School; Sarah Norris, Sumner High School; Keli O'Neill, Orting High School; Amanda Orr, Stadium High School; Shanel Rodriguez, Spanaway Lake High School; Erlene Schwenke, Mt. Tahoma High School; Tiye Smith, Henry Foss High School; and Rene Unap, Chief Leschi High School;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the members of the Washington State Senate do hereby recognize and honor the many contributions made to our state by the Daffodil Festival and its organizers for the past sixty-seven years; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be transmitted immediately by the Secretary of the Senate to the 2000 Daffodil Festival Officers and to the members of the Festival Royalty.

I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 2000-8717, adopted by the Senate March 2, 2000.

TONY M. COOK Secretary of the Senate