SENATE RESOLUTION 2000-8731

By Senators Heavey, Johnson, Long, Franklin, Spanel, Roach, Fraser, McCaslin, Sheldon, B., Goings, Fairley, Prentice, Rasmussen, McAuliffe, and Kohl-Welles

WHEREAS, Many men and women from Washington State have served and continue to serve their communities as dedicated law enforcement officers; and

WHEREAS, The brave men and women of law enforcement frequently place their own safety at risk to help us all live in safer, healthier communities; and

WHEREAS, Under difficult circumstances, the honorable men and women of law enforcement valiantly put themselves on the line to protect both persons and property during the recent events surrounding the World Trade Organization conference in Seattle; and

WHEREAS, The men and women of law enforcement steadfastly protected rights of the guests, visitors, and residents of Seattle including many thousands of peaceful and law-abiding demonstrators from unions, churches and other organizations; and

WHEREAS, The outstanding men and women of law enforcement should be recognized for their courage in respecting the rule of law, maintaining the safety of the public, and proving their character and fortitude in taking a leadership role in keeping the peace;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate express its heartfelt appreciation to men and women of law enforcement for their dedicated service and their recent performance in ensuring the well-being of our citizens; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to each law enforcement agency that participated in Seattle during the World Trade Organization conference, including the Auburn Police Department, Bainbridge Island Police Department, Bonney Lake Police Department, Bothell Police Department, Brier Police Department, Buckley Police Department, Covington Police Department, Des Moines Police Department, Edmonds Police Department, Enumclaw Police Department, Everett Police Department, Federal Way Department of Public Safety, Gig Harbor Police Department, Issaquah Police Department, Kent Police Department, King County Department of Adult and Juvenile Detention, King County Sheriffs Office, Kirkland Police Department, Kitsap County Sheriffs Office, Lake Forest Park Police Department, Lake Stevens Police Department, Lynnwood Police Department, Marysville Police Department, Mercer Island Police Department, Mill Creek Police Department, Milton Police Department, Monroe Police Department, Mountlake Terrace Police Department, Mukilteo Police Department, Orting Police Department, Pacific Police Department, Pierce County Sheriffs Department, Port of Seattle Police Department, Redmond Police Department, Renton Police Department, Seattle Police Department, Snohomish County Sheriffs Office, Snohomish Police Department, Sultan Police Department, Sumner Police Department, Tacoma Police Department, Tukwila Police Department, University of Washington Police Department, Washington State Department of Corrections, and the Washington State Patrol.

I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 2000-8731, adopted by the Senate February 23, 2000.

TONY M. COOK Secretary of the Senate