SENATE RESOLUTION 2000-8739

By Senators Zarelli and Swecker

WHEREAS, The Washington State Senate supports excellence in all fields of human endeavor; and

WHEREAS, The members of the W.F. West High School boys' basketball team have exhibited outstanding academic and athletic skill by winning the Class 3A state academic championship; and

WHEREAS, To win the Class 3A state academic championship, the Bearcats achieved the top grade point average of all Class 3A boys' basketball teams in the state with a team average of 3.56;

WHEREAS, The W.F. West boys' basketball team, consisting of Eddie Arredondo, Josh Aselton, Kyle Aselton, Keegan Fulton, Scott McCain, Nick Rambo, Brian Rash, Jordan Rinta, Kelly Ross, Sawyer Smith, Kyle State, and Phillip Thompson, achieved this academic excellence; and

WHEREAS, The Bearcat boys' basketball team benefitted from the leadership and support of Principal Dr. Linda Smith, Athletic Director Don Conway, Coach Dale Leach, and assistant coaches Ed Simmons, Rob Sandy, and Ken Hotsko in their bid for academic and athletic excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team and its leadership have brought distinction and pride to W.F. West High School, its students, its supporters, and the entire Chehalis community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor and congratulate the 1999-2000 W.F. West High School boys' basketball team for its hard work, dedication to academic and athletic excellence, and maturity in achieving this recognition; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the principal of W.F. West High School and to the members and coaching staff of the 1999-2000 W.F. West High School boys' basketball team.

I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 2000-8739, adopted by the Senate March 3, 2000.

TONY M. COOK Secretary of the Senate