SENATE RESOLUTION 2000-8778

By Senators Gardner and Kohl-Welles

WHEREAS, On March 11, 2000, the Blaine Borderites Basketball Team, from Whatcom County, defeated the Wapato Wolves in overtime to score 60 points to Wapato's 56, for their second straight Class 2A Boys' State Championship Game at the Yakima SunDome; and

WHEREAS, Despite losing their first two games of the season, the Blaine Borderites pulled together as a team during a long and arduous journey to their second 2A Championship Title during their third straight championship game appearance; and

WHEREAS, Borderite Guard, Luke Ridnour, named tournament Most Valuable Player for the third consecutive year, lead Aaron Harmening, John Spencer, Keith Williams, Brad Scheib, Austin Broyan, Matt Jones, Ryan Pike, Brian Cedarquist, Jesse Riddle, Charlie Franklin, and Barry Stieb to their second 2A Championship Game; and

WHEREAS, Each year Coach Rob Ridnour creates a family atmosphere by teaching his players the importance of committing to each other; and

WHEREAS, The team has incredibly devoted fans, more than one thousand of whom traveled to Yakima for the state championship; and

WHEREAS, With the guidance of Coach Rob Ridnour, the assistant coaches, and the Blaine High school principal and faculty, along with the support of the Blaine Student Body and its community, the Borderites Basketball Team will go down in history with pride in this accomplishment.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the members of the Washington State Senate do hereby recognize and honor the talent of the Blaine Borderites Basketball Team, and the great sense of pride they have given the people of Blaine and its surrounding communities; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Blaine High School and to Rob Ridnour, coach of the Blaine Borderites Team.

I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 2000-8778, adopted by the Senate March 16, 2000.

TONY M. COOK Secretary of the Senate