5955

Sponsor(s): Senators Snyder, Haugen, McDonald, Benton and Prentice

Brief Description: Adjusting composition and administration of the legislative transportation committee.

## SB 5955 - DIGEST

## (SUBSTITUTED FOR - SEE 1ST SUB)

Provides that the committee shall consist of twelve senators to be appointed by the president of the senate and twelve members of the house of representatives to be appointed by the speaker thereof. Not more than six members from each house may be from the same political party.

Provides that the members of the legislative transportation committee shall form an executive committee consisting of two members from each of the four major political caucuses, which will include the chair and vice-chair of the legislative transportation committee.

Declares that the executive committee is responsible for performing all general administrative and personnel duties assigned to it in the rules and procedures adopted by the committee, as well as other duties delegated to it by the committee. Except when responsibilities assumed are by the legislative transportation committee, the executive committee is responsible for adopting interim work plans and meeting schedules, approving all contracts signed on behalf of the committee, approving policies for travel of members and staff, and setting policies for staff utilization.