6609 Sponsor(s): Senators Heavey, Benton and Patterson

Brief Description: Revising governance of the department of transportation.

SB 6609 - DIGEST

Provides that the secretary of the department of transportation will be elected by qualified electors of the state, on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November of the year in which state officers are elected, and shall hold his or her office for the term of four years, and until his or her successor is elected and qualified.

Repeals RCW 47.01.041, 47.01.051, and 47.01.061.