HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2001-4610, by Representatives Anderson, Pflug, Romero, Hunt, DeBolt, Lambert, Alexander, Veloria, Ruderman and D. Schmidt

WHEREAS, The Washington State School Directors' Association chose three "school boards of the year" at their annual conference held on November 16, 2000, in Spokane, Washington; and

WHEREAS, The school boards picked for this honor are the Snoqualmie Valley School Board representing districts with 1,001 to 5,000 students, the Tumwater School Board representing districts with 5,001 or more students, and the Mossyrock School Board representing districts with 1,000 or fewer students; and

WHEREAS, The Snoqualmie Valley School Board, the Tumwater School Board, and the Mossyrock School Board were all selected based on an essay each board submitted on the topic of "the most important thing we learned this year" describing the role of the school board in raising academic achievement levels for all students; and

WHEREAS, The Snoqualmie Valley School Board, the Tumwater School Board, and the Mossyrock School Board were each acknowledged for their leadership and outstanding contributions as boards who consistently demonstrate dedication to improving and raising levels of academic achievement and student learning; and

WHEREAS, The Snoqualmie Valley School Board was honored for recognizing that genuine school improvement is a change process and that the measure of success is the willingness to commit time, energy, and resources over the long term to major goals and objections; and

WHEREAS, The Snoqualmie Valley School Board was also lauded for evaluating the district against the seven attributes of high achieving school districts - leadership, performance, accountability, effective governance, shared values, learning partnerships, staff development, and technology infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, The Tumwater School Board was recognized for setting a positive example by using a process that involved all stakeholders in the community to establish goals, celebrate successes, establish innovations in education, and implement strategies for the future; and

WHEREAS, The Mossyrock School Board was recognized for taking advantage of learning opportunities to strengthen its leadership role in providing excellence in education for its students and developing a strategic plan to make changes needed to help students in a global society; and

WHEREAS, The Snoqualmie Valley School Board members are Kristy Lee Sullivan, Chair; Richard Krona; Rudolph Edwards; Rebekah Jorgensen; and David Reed, with Richard McCullough, Superintendent; and

WHEREAS, The Tumwater School Board members are Jay Wood, Chair; Robert Barclift; Corinne Tobeck; Liz Larsen; and Janine Ward, with Nick Brossoit, Superintendent; and

WHEREAS, The Mossyrock School Board members are Mark Bolender, Chair; Dwight Belcher; Vicki Oakerman; Cynthia Phillips; and John DeGoede, with Toma Manke, Superintendent;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor the Snoqualmie Valley School Board, the Tumwater School Board, and the Mossyrock School Board for being recognized as "school boards of the year" and for their commitment to providing the children of their districts a quality education;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to the Snoqualmie Valley School Board, the Tumwater School Board, and the Mossyrock School Board.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4610 adopted by the House of Representatives February 8, 2001.