HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2001-4650, by Representatives Ballard, Chopp, Ahern, Alexander, Anderson, Armstrong, Ballasiotes, Barlean, Benson, Berkey, Boldt, Buck, Bush, Cairnes, Campbell, Carrell, Casada, B. Chandler, G. Chandler, Clements, Cody, Conway, Cooper, Cox, Crouse, Darneille, DeBolt, Delvin, Dickerson, Doumit, Dunn, Dunshee, Edmonds, Edwards, Eickmeyer, Ericksen, Esser, Fisher, Fromhold, Gombosky, Grant, Haigh, Hankins, Hatfield, Hunt, Hurst, Jackley, Jarrett, Kagi, Keiser, Kenney, Kessler, Kirby, Lambert, Lantz, Linville, Lisk, Lovick, Marine, Mastin, McDermott, McIntire, McMorris, Mielke, Miloscia, Mitchell, Morell, Morris, Mulliken, Murray, O'Brien, Ogden, Pearson, Pennington, Pflug, Poulsen, Quall, Reardon, Roach, Rockefeller, Romero, Ruderman, Santos, Schindler, D. Schmidt, Schoesler, Schual-Berke, Sehlin, Simpson, Skinner, H. Sommers, Sump, Talcott, Tokuda, Van Luven, Veloria, Wood and Woods

WHEREAS, The citizens of Washington are proud of the noble men and women from Whidbey Island Naval Air Station in Oak Harbor, who risk their lives daily to protect our nation so that we may live in peace and freedom; and

WHEREAS, The Washington State House of Representatives recognizes the committed leadership displayed by Lt. Shane Osborn, the pilot who followed time-honored emergency procedures and landed the crippled United States Navy EP-3 electronic reconnaissance aircraft safely on Hainan Island, China; and

WHEREAS, The House of Representatives joins a grateful nation in recognizing and honoring the following service men and women for their professionalism and courage during their eleven days of captivity in China:

Lieutenant Shane Osborn

Ensign Richard Bensing

Aviation Electricians Mate 3rd Class Steven Blocher

Cryptologic Technician Seaman Bradford Borland

Aviation Electricians Technician 2nd Class David Cecka

Lieutenant John Comerford

Cryptologic Technician Operator 1st Class Shawn Coursen

Cryptologic Technician Collection Seaman Jeremy Crandall

Cryptologic Technician Interpretive 1st Class Josef Edmunds

Cryptologic Technician Interpretive 2nd Class Brandon Funk

Aviation Electricians Technician 2nd Class Scott Guidry Cryptologic Technician 2nd Class Jason Hanser

Lieutenant Patrick Honeck

Lieutenant Regina Kauffman

Aviation Machinist's Mate Senior Chief Nicholas Mellos

Aviation Electricians Technician 2nd Class Ramon Mercado

Lieutenant Richard Payne

Cryptologic Technician 2nd Class Kenneth Richter

Lieutenant Marcia Sonon

Lieutenant Jeffrey Vignery

Aviation Machinist 2nd Class Wendy Westrook

Crypotologic Technician 3rd Class Rodney Young

Sergeant Richard Pray

Senior Airman Curtis Towne

WHEREAS, The House of Representatives honors all soldiers, sailors, airmen, marines, and guardsmen of Washington who dedicate their lives to protecting our freedom; and

WHEREAS, The House of Representatives also recognizes and honors the families who provide constant and unconditional support for our dedicated military professionals; and

WHEREAS, The House of Representatives also expresses its gratitude to the entire community of Oak Harbor for providing comfort and encouragement to the families of the detained crew members while they were awaiting the safe return of their loved ones;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives commend and honor the twenty-four men and women who performed their recent mission with distinction and nobility, wish all the crewmembers a joyous homecoming celebration, and offer appreciation to their gallant families; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to President George W. Bush, Captain Larry Salter, Commanding Officer Whidbey Island Naval Air Station, Captain William Marriott, Commanding Officer Fleet Air Reconnaissance Squadron ONE, and Whidbey Naval Air Station Public Affairs Office.

Timothy A. Martin, Co-Chief Clerk	Cynthia Zehnder, Co-Chief Clerk