<u>HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2001-4656</u>, by Representatives Conway, Hunt, Hatfield, Simpson, Veloria, Edmonds, Santos, Armstrong and Campbell

WHEREAS, Wednesday, April 25th, is the annual Workers' Memorial Day to honor injured workers and families of those workers who have died; and

WHEREAS, There are 90,000,000 people in 7,000,000 workplaces in the United States and more than 2,000,000 workers in Washington who work hard to support themselves and their families; and

WHEREAS, The nation's workers represent the backbone of the economy and have made the United States the most prosperous country in the world; and

WHEREAS, On an average day, 154 workers lose their lives in our country as a result of workplace injuries and illnesses, equivalent to a 737 Jet crash every day; and

WHEREAS, In 2000, Washington had 81 work-related fatalities, an average of more than one death every week, and 189,000 work-related illnesses and injuries; and

WHEREAS, The loved ones, friends, and coworkers of workers who lost their lives in the past year, Leby Perez Aguilar, Cristobal Mungia Alejandre, Virgil Almaas, Thaddeus Artz, Robert Asvitt, Frank Babcock, Troy Boyed, David Branco, Madeline Brotherton, Nicholas Calcagno, Janet Carlson, Gary Cavett, Max Chamalbide, Don Clovis, Chadd Coplin, Nathan Creek, David Cruz-Bravo, Alan Davis, Wallace Davis, Pavel Dyachuk, Alberto Enriquez, Jose Francisco Galdamez, Raul Garza, Patrick Gleason, Nelson Grant, Christopher Hagan, Paul Hardin, Marlo Harker, David Harrison, Russell Harry, Ronald Hopkins, Felix Hurley, Michael Ireland, Casey Johnson, Jack Johnson, David Keller, William Kennedy, Yong Su Kim, Royce Klingle, Charles Knudson, Joe Knight, Linda Knight, Brandi Lavalla, Linda Lindberg, Armandon Jaimez Loza, Rufus Martin, William Mauldin, Steven Mikel, Kristin Mills, David Mizer, Carlos Tyson Morales, Huong Nguyen, Brock O'Connor, Yianni Philippides, Terence Prausa, Craig Pulanco, Roy Quan, Jose Rodrigues, Carmen Garfias Ruiz, Kenneth Sanders, Catharine Secor, Allison Shanks, Roman Shidlovsky, Gurdev Singh, Valerie Sivinski, Steven Smith, David Susdorf, Marvin Tarrell, Donovan Thater, Randy Tobin, Nathan Torres, Roger Wangerud, Art Ward, Ervin Wegner, John Wells, Samuel Williams, Wayne Wilmoth, Christopher Womack, David Wright, and Andrew York, suffer untold pain and suffering, and families of those fallen workers, experience economic as well as emotional hardship;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize the many millions of workers who have contributed to our country and our state, and honor those who have suffered injuries or who have died on the job; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to Rick Bender of the Washington State Labor Council for distribution to affiliated and independent members, to Don Brunell of the Association of Washington Business, and Gary Moore of the Department of Labor and Industries.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4656 adopted by the House of Representatives May 2, 2001.

Timothy A. Martin, Co-Chief Clerk	Cynthia Zehnder, Co-Chief Clerk