HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2002-4677, by Representatives Pflug, Anderson and Cairnes

WHEREAS, The students of Tahoma High School in Maple Valley, Washington, enrolled in the program known as "We The People, The Citizen and Constitution" have exhibited that they have learned very well the lessons of our forefathers who wrote the Constitution of the United States and will be representing all of Washington in national championship competitions; and

WHEREAS, This knowledge will enhance their lives and direct their paths as they walk through life, proud in the knowledge that Americans have long stood for justice and liberty of all Americans; and

WHEREAS, Being armed with this knowledge is to the benefit of all citizens of this great country and state and will encourage them to participate in the democracy men and women have fought so gallantly to preserve; and

WHEREAS, These energetic, knowledgeable young people will one day lead this state and country, and there may very well be in their midst a Governor, Senator, member of Congress, or perhaps even a future President; and

WHEREAS, The Teacher of the "We The People" program, Stephanie Davis, can take great pride knowing that the students enrolled in this program have the knowledge to outperform university students in every topic; and

WHEREAS, Studies have shown that eighty percent of senior students participating in this program have registered to vote compared to an average of thirty-seven percent, thereby proving that this program has increased the interest in politics and in participating in government; and

WHEREAS, Tahoma High School had teams competing at the state championship, and one such team won the first place title, enabling its members to represent the whole state of Washington when they compete at the national competition in Washington, D.C.;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives wish to acknowledge the participants in this program, all of whom are members of the team that won first place: Heather Aldrich, Laura Bailey, Andy Bauer, Travis Beckett, Lance Bishop, Jonathan Bongard, Sheena Clark, Aimee Craig, Mike DeSisto, Casey Dillon, Kiran Garcha, Tyler Hawks, Katie Kennedy, Rebecca Kennedy, David Knotts, Alissa Loudiana, Julia Lowe, Ryan Marsh, Jamaica Morris, Michaela Soldano, Kellie Stendal, Stefanie Waldron, Emily Walters, Ryan Wells, and Jessica Woodall. All are students making their families and fellow citizens proud; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives forward a copy of this resolution to the Principal of Tahoma High School to further show the respect of this body for a job well done by each student and teacher.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of 4677 Resolution adopted by the House of Representatives February 13, 2002.