HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2002-4687, by Representatives Hunt, Doumit, Schoesler, Benson, Sump, Esser, Pearson, Schindler, Clements, Boldt, Buck, Mitchell, Jackley, Ogden, Wood, Alexander, Cox, Dunn, Ahern, Jarrett, Mulliken, Bush, Roach, Armstrong, Sehlin, Conway, Grant, Hankins, Hatfield, Ballasiotes and Talcott

WHEREAS, The Washington State University Cougars' football team, under the leadership of Coach Mike Price, finished the 2001 season with a 10-2 record; and

WHEREAS, The Cougars were nationally ranked 10th in the final Associated Press football poll and 11th in the ESPN-USA Today final poll; and

WHEREAS, WSU had more players named to the PAC 10 All-Academic first and second teams than any other team in the conference; and

WHEREAS, Mike Price was named 2001 PAC 10 Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The Cougars defeated the Purdue Boilermakers 33-27 in the 2001 Sun Bowl in El Paso, Texas; and

WHEREAS, Defensive back Lamont Thompson was selected to the Associated Press All-American first team, was a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe defensive back of the year award, and was the Sun Bowl's most valuable player; and

WHEREAS, Place kicker Drew Dunning was named Sun Bowl special teams player of the game; and WHEREAS, Quarterback Jason Gesser was a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien quarterback of the year award, and wide receiver Nakoa McElrath was a semifinalist for the Fred Biletnikoff wide receiver of the year award; and

WHEREAS, WSU players Billy Newman, Jeremy Thielbahr, Joey Hollenbeck, Tupo Tuupo, James Price, Raonall Smith, Alan Cox, Lamont Thompson, and Nakoa McElrath were selected to participate in postseason all star games; and

WHEREAS, Coach Mike Price won the Eddie Robinson National Coach of the Year Award in 1997 and was one of three finalists for the award in 2001; and

WHEREAS, WSU is one of only three PAC 10 universities to have two 10 win seasons in the past five years; and

WHEREAS, Coach Mike Price, WSU coach since 1989 and dean of PAC 10 coaches, requires his players to be team members, students, and community leaders; and

WHEREAS, Only five Division 1-A NCAA coaches in the nation have been at their respective schools longer than Mike Price;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives honor the 2001 Washington State University Cougar football team for its outstanding season; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives congratulate WSU Coach Mike Price for his many coaching successes and for the excellent leadership he provides to WSU's student athletes; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be transmitted to WSU Coach Mike Price, WSU President Lane Rawlins, WSU Athletic Director Jim Sterk, and the captains of the 2001 WSU Cougar football team.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of 4687 Resolution adopted by the House of Representatives January 28, 2002.