S-3930.3

SUBSTITUTE SENATE BILL 6684

State of Washington 57th Legislature 2002 Regular Session

By Senate Committee on Judiciary (originally sponsored by Senators Kline, McCaslin, Finkbeiner and Thibaudeau)

READ FIRST TIME 02/08/2002.

1 AN ACT Relating to changing the number of district court judges; 2 amending RCW 3.34.010; and creating a new section.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:

4 Sec. 1. RCW 3.34.010 and 1998 c 64 s 1 are each amended to read as 5 follows:

The number of district judges to be elected in each county shall б be: Adams, two; Asotin, one; Benton, three; Chelan, two; Clallam, two; 7 Clark, five; Columbia, one; Cowlitz, two; Douglas, one; Ferry, one; 8 Franklin, one; Garfield, one; Grant, two; Grays Harbor, two; Island, 9 10 one; Jefferson, one; King, ((twenty-six)) twenty-three; Kitsap, three; Kittitas, two; Klickitat, two; Lewis, two; Lincoln, one; Mason, one; 11 12 Okanogan, two; Pacific, two; Pend Oreille, one; Pierce, eleven; San 13 Juan, one; Skagit, two; Skamania, one; Snohomish, eight; Spokane, nine; 14 Stevens, one; Thurston, two; Wahkiakum, one; Walla Walla, two; Whatcom, 15 two; Whitman, one; Yakima, four. This number may be increased only as 16 provided in RCW 3.34.020.

17 <u>NEW SECTION.</u> **Sec. 2.** The district judges holding office on the 18 effective date of this act shall serve the remainder of their terms,

SSB 6684

p. 1

and any reduction in the number of district judges required by section
1, chapter . . ., Laws of 2002 (this act) shall occur upon the
expiration of their terms.

--- END ---