## SENATE RESOLUTION 8669

By Senators Patterson and Roach

WHEREAS, It is an honor of the Washington State Senate to recognize outstanding achievement in athletic excellence; and

WHEREAS, Mt. Rainier High School of Des Moines won the Washington State AAA Boys' Swim and Dive Championship at the King County Aquatic Center on February 17, 2001; and

WHEREAS, The Mt. Rainier Rams managed to take the state championship without winning a single event, because their team has an extensive depth of talent, not just a few standouts, and a strong coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, Mt. Rainier High School has won the State AAA Boys Swim and Dive Championship three times in the past ten years; and

WHEREAS, The AAA Boys' Swim and Dive Championship hinged on the final event, with Bellevue placing second and Mercer Island placing third; and

WHEREAS, The members, coaches, parents and friends of the Mt. Rainier High School Swim and Dive Team helped raise more than \$25,000 in four months, and sent the team to Hawaii to condition and compete at the University of Hawaii, before their high school swim season began; and

WHEREAS, Parents and swimmers credit the Rams' success to the outstanding dedication of swim coach Rick Wertman and dive coach Todd Wollenweber, who both provided strong, inspirational leadership and emphasized their expectations of good sportsmanship and honorable behavior both in and out of the pool; and

WHEREAS, Team members Ben Austin, Eric Bivoino, Matt Brumfield, Paul Ehreth, Jason Hagen, Daniel Kessey, Brad Lentz, David Lilleness, Matt Midget, Brad Nelson, Chris Norris, Alden Olmstead, Alex Olsen, Alex Patterson, Bryan Roberts, David Staley, Travis Thompson, Taylor Evans-Race, Matt Hettler, Garick Hughes, Cy Sack, J.B. Andrews, Greg Austin, Ben Christian, Daniel Crawley, Greg Fleehart, Andrew Keane, A.J. Koenig, Dayne Olmstead, Justin Babitsky, Brett Bertucio, Brenton Cook, Jordon Duke, Nick Harrell, Neil Inman, Justin Kraft, Brian Lautman, Dustin Manella, Jeff Pfeiffer, Jimmi Schneider, Jon Strusenberg, and Jonny Thibodeaux have distinguished themselves as high school athletes; and

WHEREAS, The Mt. Rainier Rams' were the only team at the Washington State AAA Boys Swim and Dive Championship to have four individual divers place in the top eight; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate applauds the hard work, commitment, dedication, teamwork and athletic excellence of Mt. Rainier High School's Swim and Dive Team; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted from the Secretary of the Senate to Mt. Rainier High School and to coaches Rick Wertman and Todd Wollenweber.

I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8669, adopted by the Senate April 11, 2001.

TONY M. COOK Secretary of the Senate