SENATE RESOLUTION 8678

By Senators Haugen, Spanel and Rasmussen

WHEREAS, It is the practice of the Senate to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and

WHEREAS, The Mount Vernon High School Bulldog Boys' Basketball Team, from Mount Vernon, won the 2001 Class AAA State Basketball Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Mount Vernon basketball coaches, players, and managers demonstrated sportsmanship, citizenship, skill, and dedication while accomplishing their goal of winning the State AAA Basketball Championship with a perfect 27-0 record; and

WHEREAS, The senior class student athletes of Mount Vernon's Championship Boys' Basketball Team have a collective 3.28 grade point average, showing a commitment to academic excellence as well as athletic excellence; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Mac Fraser has led the Mount Vernon Bulldog Boys' Basketball Teams to state championships in both the twentieth century (1991, 1992) and the twenty-first century (2001);

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognize and honor the Mount Vernon High School Boys' Basketball Team and Coach Mac Fraser and his assistants for their accomplishments; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Coach Mac Fraser; Assistant Coaches Jim Koetje, Jeff Scott, Torey Swanson and Chad Weyers; Principal Dave Anderson; Athletic Director Eric Monson; the faculty of Mount Vernon High School; and to the studentathletes of Mount Vernon High School who won the AAA State Boys' Basketball Championship for 2001: Seniors Tyler Amaya, Troy DeVries, John Lee, Eric Powell, Josh Reisman; Aaron Roetcisoender, Scott Skjel and Chris Thompson; Juniors Stanley Johnson, Ben Martin and Travis Storrer; and Sophomore Kyle Kendrick.

I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 2001-8678, adopted by the Senate April 18, 2001.

TONY M. COOK Secretary of the Senate