SENATE RESOLUTION 8696

By Senator Honeyford

WHEREAS, First Baptist Church was a part of a federation of six denominations that jointly founded the first church built in Sunnyside; and

WHEREAS, First Baptist Church officially organized on April 20, 1901; and

WHEREAS, First Baptist Church completed construction of their initial worship facility in 1907; and

WHEREAS, pastors A.H. Lyons; F.F. Schlosser; George C. McClure; J.F. Rorex, Kirkendall; Homer D. Pease; L.W. Terry; J.C. Havnaer; John McAllister; E.H. Tetwiler; I.N. Monroe; Robert Gray; A.B. Baird; Dr. F.W. Carstens; A.U. Logan; J.R.L. Haslem; Aubry Winsor; Lyndall Logee; Michael Petrillo; C. Douglas Honeyford; Lawrence Bral; Jack Galey; Arthur Schulz; Paul Felthouse; Warren Hall; and Dr. Michael Hughes have faithfully and capably served First Baptist since 1901; and

WHEREAS, residents of Yakima County have been worshiping at First Baptist for one hundred years; and

WHEREAS, First Baptist Church will be celebrating its one hundredth anniversary at its worship services on June 10, 2001;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate acknowledges and congratulates First Baptist Church on its longevity; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to First Baptist Church.

I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8696, adopted by the Senate May 18, 2001.

TONY M. COOK Secretary of the Senate