SENATE RESOLUTION 8729

By Senator Sheldon, B.

WHEREAS, 2001 marked the Fiftieth Anniversary of the Babe Ruth League, named after arguably the greatest baseball player of all time, George Herman Babe– Ruth; and

WHEREAS, The Babe Ruth League ranks as the premier amateur baseball organization in the world, with 1 million participants throughout the United States and Canada; and

WHEREAS, The North Kitsap Babe Ruth All-Star team sets ideals of commitment and good sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, This group of thirteen to fifteen year olds plays on a regulation-sized baseball diamond; and

WHEREAS, By winning the Northwest Regional tournament in The Dalles, Oregon, the North Kitsap Babe Ruth All Stars, comprised of Josh Beahan, Nate Brown, Blake Buel, Jeff Camus, Sean Carlson, Marcus Curtis, Kevin Gartin, Erik Gronnvoll, Taylor Heins, Jordan Henry, Barrett Kanyer, Miles Thomson, Travis Tobin, Chris Williams, head coach Bill Burton, and coaches Ollie Kenyon and Jerry Johnson, qualified for the Babe Ruth World Series; and

WHEREAS, They were the first team to represent North Kitsap in the Babe Ruth World Series, which last year was held in Longview, Washington, from August 17-25; and

WHEREAS, The team placed third in the Babe Ruth World series, the first time a Northwest team had advanced to this level since1988, when a Senior Babe Ruth Class AA team led by former Seattle Mariner baseball pitcher Aaron Sele, performed the feat;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate hereby recognize the hard work and dedication of these baseball players; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the members of the North Kitsap Babe Ruth All-Star team.

I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8729, adopted by the Senate February 1, 2002.

TONY M. COOK Secretary of the Senate