SENATE RESOLUTION 8746

By Senators Rossi, Johnson, Carlson and Roach

WHEREAS, The students of Tahoma High School in Maple Valley, Washington, enrolled in the program known as We the People, The Citizen and the Constitution—have exhibited that they have learned very well the lessons of our forefathers, who wrote the Constitution of the United States and will be representing all of Washington in national championship competition to be held May 4 though May 6 in Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, This knowledge will enhance their lives and direct their paths as they walk through life, proud in the knowledge that Americans have long stood for justice and liberty of all Americans; and

WHEREAS, Being armed with this knowledge is to the benefit of all citizens of this great country and state and will encourage them to participate in the democracy men and women have fought so gallantly to preserve; and

WHEREAS, Knowing that these energetic, knowledgeable young people will one day lead this state and country, and that there may very well be in their midst a Governor, Senator or a member of Congress or perhaps even a future President; and

WHEREAS, The teacher of We The People-program, Stephanie Davis, who has lead students to win state championships the past seven years, can take great pride knowing that the students enrolled in this program have the knowledge to outperform university students in every topic; and

WHEREAS, Studies have shown that eighty percent of senior students participating in this program have registered to vote as compared to an average of thirty-seven percent, thereby proving that this program has increased the interest in politics and in participating in government;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That we the members of the Washington State Senate wish to acknowledge the participation in this program by Heather Aldrich, Laura Bailey, Andy Bauer, Travis Beckett, Lance Bishop, Jonathan Bongard, Sheena Clark, Aimee Craig, Mike DeSisto, Casey Dillon, Kiran Garcha, Tyler Hawks, Katie Kennedy, Rebecca Kennedy, David Knotts, Alissa Loudiana, Julia Lowe, Ryan Marsh, Jamaica Morris, Michaela Soldano, Kellie Stendal, Stefanie Waldron, Emily Walters, Ryan Wells, and Jessica Woodall, students each and every one making their families and fellow citizens proud; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Secretary of the Senate forward a copy of this resolution to the Principal of Tahoma High School to further show the respect of this body for a job well done by each student and teacher.

I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8746, adopted by the Senate February 13, 2002.

TONY M. COOK Secretary of the Senate