By Senators West, Sheldon, B., Deccio, Brown, Sheahan and Johnson

WHEREAS, the Gonzaga University men's basketball team is making a fourth consecutive appearance in college basketball's big dance, and

WHEREAS, following three consecutive Sweet Sixteen appearances, the Gonzaga Bulldogs hope to continue their unparalleled tradition of post-season success this year by making it four in a row, and

WHEREAS, only national champions Duke and Michigan State can claim an equal level of post-season success over the last three years, and

WHEREAS, Gonzaga trails only Duke, Michigan State and the University of Cincinnati in total wins over the last four years with one hundred and nine, and

WHEREAS, Coach Mark Few along with assistant coaches Bill Grier, Leon Rice, Tommy Lloyd, and trainer Tom DeLong have led their Zags to both the 2002 West Coast Conference Title and the 2002 West Coast Conference Tournament Championship, and

WHEREAS, Coach Few has also led his team to a record of 29-3, best in school history and good enough for a national ranking as the sixth best college basketball team in the country, been recognized as a national coach of the year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches and been named the West Coach Conference Coach of the year for the 2001-2002 season, and

WHEREAS, senior point guard Dan Dickau has averaged 20.6 points per game, 4.9 assists per game, is shooting 47.7 percent from three-point land, and has earned a 3.40 GPA in broadcasting, and

WHEREAS, Dan Dickau has been named West Coast Conference Player of the Year, a Wooden Award finalist for the top college basketball player in the country, and been named to both the Academic All-America first team and the AP All-America first team for the five best college basketball players in the country, and

WHEREAS, bruising Bulldog big men Zach Gourde and Cory Violette were also named to the All West Coast Conference first team, with slashing point guard Blake Stepp receiving honorable mention, and

WHEREAS, fellow starter Anthony Reason has provided invaluable defensive intensity and, along with players Kyle Bankhead, Winston Brooks, Germayne Forbes, Alex Hernandez, Jay Sherrell, and Ronny Turiaf, has helped guide the Zags to their most successful regular season in school history, and

WHEREAS, the 2002 Gonzaga Bulldogs hope to keep playing well into March as they vie for College Basketball's national championship against the best teams in the nation,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate officially recognize the Gonzaga Men's basketball program for yet another brilliant season of roundball dominance and wish them the best of luck in the upcoming NCAA tournament. GO ZAGS!!

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be delivered to the President of Gonzaga University, the Gonzaga Men's Basketball Coaching Staff and Players, and the Director of the Gonzaga University Athletic department.

I, Tony M. Cook, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8790, adopted by the Senate March 13, 2002.

TONY M. COOK Secretary of the Senate