<u>HOUSE RESOLUTION NO.2005-4624</u>, by Representatives Murray, Woods, Skinner, Jarrett, Buck, Curtis, Schindler, Shabro, Wood, Upthegrove, Lovick, Dickerson, Hankins, Appleton, Takko, Sells, Kilmer, Nixon, Wallace, Simpson, Hudgins, Rodne, Morris and B. Sullivan

WHEREAS, One hundred years ago in March 1905, the legislature overrode Governor McBride's 1903 veto and enacted additional legislation creating the highway commissioner's office and designating state roads; and

WHEREAS, One hundred years ago on March 13, 1905, Governor Albert Mead signed legislation creating the office of Highway Commissioner and a three-member state highway board and designated routes for 12 state roads to be constructed; and

WHEREAS, On April 17, 1905, the newly created highway board met for the first time and consisted of highway commissioner J. M. Snow, state auditor Charles W. Clausen, and state treasurer C. W. Maynard; and

WHEREAS, We honor the thousands upon thousands of men and women who helped shape the system of highways, roads, bridges, tunnels, and ferries that we all enjoy today; and

WHEREAS, We honor those who had the vision to create a transportation network that is recognized as one of the finest in the nation that embraces aviation, transit, commute trip reduction, high-occupancy vehicle lanes, and the expanded use of web-based traveler information to provide drivers with real-time information; and

WHEREAS, We honor those who are at the forefront of recognizing the future transportation needs of the state and using innovative and cost-effective means to achieve the greatest results;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives call on the people of the state of Washington to honor its early highway and transportation pioneers of the region by celebrating and commemorating our state department of transportation's centennial in the grand manner befitting this one hundredth anniversary.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4624 adopted by the House of Representatives February 25, 2005

Richard Nafziger, Chief Clerk