## SENATE RESOLUTION 8634

By Senators Thibaudeau, Kohl-Welles, Parlette, Weinstein, McAuliffe, Fairley, Johnson, Roach and Fraser

WHEREAS, Founded in 1972, Pacific Northwest Ballet is one of the largest and most highly regarded ballet companies in the nation; and

WHEREAS, Dance Magazine writer Marion Horosko described Pacific Northwest Ballet School as "one of the leading, if not the definitive, professional training school in the country"; and

WHEREAS, In 1977, Pacific Northwest Ballet hired co-artistic directors, Kent Stowell and Francia Russell, and modeled the company after New York City Ballet; and

WHEREAS, As principal choreographer, Stowell created more full-length ballets than any other American artistic director of a major dance company; and

WHEREAS, As school director, Russell developed a complete dance curriculum, attracting talented dancers, artists, choreographers, and staff; and

WHEREAS, For more than 27 years, Stowell and Russell's vision, passion, and commitment to excellence have made Pacific Northwest Ballet a world-class dance organization for generations of artists; and

WHEREAS, Stowell and Russell have received many awards, including the Governor's Arts Award and Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Seattle University; and

WHEREAS, Stowell and Russell are retiring after 27 years at Pacific Northwest Ballet; and WHEREAS, They will be remembered for their commitment to the arts and dedication to broadening and enriching cultural appreciation, expression, and celebration in the community; and

WHEREAS, Pacific Northwest Ballet has captivated a devoted, supportive, and continually growing audience while maintaining a strong financial foundation;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognize the artistic leadership of Stowell and Russell, who transformed Pacific Northwest Ballet into an organization of international distinction and provide excellence in dance training and superior performances for all generations; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Kent Stowell and Francia Russell, co-artistic directors of Pacific Northwest Ballet, and Peter A. Horvitz, president of Pacific Northwest Ballet.