By Senators Finkbeiner and Jacobsen

WHEREAS, The creators of KCMU public radio station, now known as KEXP, began broadcasting from the University of Washington campus in 1972 as a 10-watt laboratory for students, programming an album-rock format; and

WHEREAS, KEXP, a nonprofit organization with its broadcast license held by the University of Washington, continues to be a member-supported radio station, relying on a growing level of support from individuals, businesses, and foundations, and receiving countless hours of work from more than 500 community volunteers; and

WHEREAS, In 2000, KEXP became the first station in the world to offer uncompressed CD-quality audio on the Internet twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week; and

WHEREAS, In 2004, KEXP received the Webby Award, the leading international award honoring excellence in Web design, creativity, usability, and functionality, for best radio web site; and

WHEREAS, KEXP continues to strive in its mission to enrich lives with a unique, expansive, and deep combination of music programming, with knowledgeable hosts that handpick music from its collection of approximately 500,000 titles; and

WHEREAS, KEXP has played and continues to play a historical role in connecting Northwest bands with their first audiences; and

WHEREAS, KEXP provides an unparalleled and unmatched variety of music programs, including Jazz Theater, Preachin' the Blues, Swingin' Doors, Audioasis, The Best Ambiance, Expansions, Mind Over Matters, Positive Vibrations, The Roadhouse, Shake the Shack, Sonarchy Radio, Sonic Reducer, Street Sounds, Variety Mix, and Wo' Pop; and

WHEREAS, KEXP plays host to the most dedicated radio personalities in the entire Puget Sound, including John Richards, Abe Beeson, B-Mello, Brian Foss, Cheryl Waters, Chilly, Darek Mazzone, Diane Horn, DJ Mr. Smith, DJ Riz, Don Slack, Doug Haire, Doug Patterson, Greg Jaspan, Greg Vandy, Rachel, Jack Walters, John Gilbreath, Johnny Horn, Jon Kertzer, Kevin Cole, Kid Hops, Larry Metro, Larry Rose, Leon Berman, Lisa Wood, Masa, Michele Myers, Mike McCormick, Nick Turner, Poptart, Quilty 3000, West Keller, Sean Nelson, and Stevie Zoom, with support from Tom Mara; and

WHEREAS, KEXP is truly "Where the music matters";

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor KEXP and all KEXP employees and volunteers for their dedicated service and the commitment shown in their work and for the innumerable contributions made to the State of Washington.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Tom Mara, the station director, and to Mark A. Emmert, the President of the University of Washington.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8651, adopted by the Senate March 21, 2005

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate