SENATE RESOLUTION 8725

By Senators McAuliffe, Rockefeller, Berkey, Spanel and Esser

WHEREAS, John Jenft faithfully served students and school administrators in the state of Washington for fifty-four years; and

WHEREAS, John Jenft spent these years as a teacher and as a district business manager in the Arlington school district from 1951 to 1995; and

WHEREAS, John Jenft applied his business skills and talents par excellence to the work of documenting, explaining, and contributing to the statewide work in K-12 finance throughout his career and after his retirement in 1995; and

WHEREAS, John Jenft was an active member of the Washington Association of School Business Officials since 1962, served as the president of the association in 1976, and received the association's Outstanding Service Award in 1980; and

WHEREAS, John Jenft was an active member of the Washington Association of School Administrators for thirty-five years and served on the association's Legislative and Finance Committee for fifteen years during which time he contributed to state budget analysis by producing every year his famous "Nuts and Bolts" document of budget drivers for all school districts across the state; and

WHEREAS, John Jenft will be remembered as the ultimate number cruncher and as a delightfully multidimensional human being who will be dearly missed by his family, friends, and colleagues;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate offer its gratitude and commendation to John Jenft for his tireless efforts on behalf of the students and public schools in Washington State; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the family of John Jenft, the Washington Association of School Business Officials, and the Washington Association of School Administrators.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8725, adopted by the Senate February 23, 2006

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate