# Washington State House of Representatives Office of Program Research

# BILL ANALYSIS

## **Transportation Committee**

## **ESSB 5682**

**Brief Description**: Requiring the secretary of transportation to realign the transportation regions.

**Sponsors**: Senate Committee on Transportation (originally sponsored by Senators Haugen and Marr).

#### **Brief Summary of Engrossed Substitute Bill**

- Reorganizes the administrative regions of the Washington State Department of Transportation.
- Reduces regional management staff by at least 5 percent.

Hearing Date: 3/25/09

**Staff**: Christie Parker (786-7322)

## Background:

The Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) is organized administratively into six regions that are generally separated along county boundaries. The regions are as follows:

- Eastern -- Adams, Ferry, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, and Whitman Counties.
- North Central -- Chelan, Douglas, Grant, and Okanogan Counties.
- Northwest -- Island, King, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, and Whatcom Counties.
- Olympic -- Clallam, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Kitsap, Mason, Pierce, and Thurston Counties.
- Southwest -- Clark, Cowlitz, Klickitat, Lewis, Pacific, and Skamania Counties.
- South Central -- Asotin, Benton, Columbia, Franklin, Garfield, Kittitas, Wahkiakum, Walla Walla, and Yakima Counties.

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

House Bill Analysis - 1 - ESSB 5682

In addition to the six regions, there is a seventh office that functions similarly to a region office. This office, called the Urban Corridors office, is responsible for delivering major urban transportation projects in the Central Puget Sound area.

### **Summary of Bill**:

Beginning in January 2010 and by no later than July 1, 2011, the WSDOT is reorganized into six regions as follows:

- Eastern -- Adams, Asotin, Columbia, Ferry, Garfield, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, and Whitman Counties, as well as the portion of Walla Walla County that is not included in the South Central region.
- Northwest -- Island, San Juan, Skagit, and Whatcom Counties.
- Olympic -- Clallam, Jefferson, Grays Harbor, Mason, Lewis, Kitsap, and Thurston Counties.
- Puget Sound -- King, Pierce, and Snohomish Counties.
- South Central -- Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Franklin, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, and Yakima Counties, as well as a connection along state number 12 to the Tri-Cities area in Walla Walla County.
- Southwest -- Clark, Cowlitz, Pacific, Skamania, and Wahkiakum Counties.

Regional management staff are to be reduced by at least 5 percent by July 1, 2011.

**Appropriation**: None.

Fiscal Note: Not requested.

**Effective Date**: The bill takes effect 90 days after adjournment of the session in which the bill is passed.