CERTIFICATION OF ENROLLMENT

HOUSE BILL 1474

Chapter 158, Laws of 2009

61st Legislature 2009 Regular Session

BORDER COUNTY HIGHER EDUCATION OPPORTUNITY PROJECT

EFFECTIVE DATE: 07/26/09

Passed by the House March 5, 2009 Yeas 97 Nays 0

FRANK CHOPP

Speaker of the House of Representatives

Passed by the Senate April 7, 2009 Yeas 44 Nays 0

BRAD OWEN

President of the Senate

Approved April 21, 2009, 2:58 p.m.

CERTIFICATE

I, Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives of the State of Washington, do hereby certify that the attached is **HOUSE BILL 1474** as passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on the dates hereon set forth.

BARBARA BAKER

Chief Clerk

FILED

April 22, 2009

CHRISTINE GREGOIRE

Governor of the State of Washington

Secretary of State State of Washington _____

HOUSE BILL 1474

Passed Legislature - 2009 Regular Session

State of Washington 61st Legislature 2009 Regular Session

By Representatives Orcutt, Wallace, Herrera, and Moeller

Read first time 01/21/09. Referred to Committee on Higher Education.

- AN ACT Relating to the border county higher education opportunity project; and amending RCW 28B.76.685 and 28B.15.0139.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- 4 **Sec. 1.** RCW 28B.76.685 and 2003 c 159 s 2 are each amended to read 5 as follows:
- 6 (1) (a) The border county higher education opportunity project is
- 7 created. The purpose of the project is to allow Washington 8 institutions of higher education that are located in counties on the
- o institutions of inighter education that are located in countries on the
- 9 Oregon border to implement tuition policies that correspond to Oregon
- 10 policies. Under the border county project, Columbia Basin Community
- 11 College, Clark College, Lower Columbia Community College, Grays Harbor
- 12 Community College, and Walla Walla Community College may enroll
- 13 students who reside in the bordering Oregon counties of Columbia,
- 14 Gilliam, Hood River, Multnomah, Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Sherman,
- 15 Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, and Washington at resident tuition
- 16 rates.
- 17 <u>(b)</u> The Tri-Cities and Vancouver branches of Washington State
- 18 University may enroll students who reside in the bordering Oregon

p. 1 HB 1474.SL

- 1 counties of Columbia, Multnomah, Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Umatilla,
- 2 Union, Wallowa, and Washington for eight credits or less at resident
- 3 tuition rates.

7

- 4 (2) <u>Columbia Basin Community College, Clark College, Lower Columbia</u>
- 5 <u>Community College, Grays Harbor Community College, and Walla Walla</u>
- 6 Community College may enroll students at resident tuition rates who:
 - (a) Are currently domiciled in Washington;
- 8 (b) Relocated to Washington from one of the thirteen counties
- 9 <u>identified in subsection (1)(a) of this section within the previous</u>
- 10 twelve months; and
- 11 (c) Were domiciled in one of the thirteen counties identified in
- 12 <u>subsection (1)(a) of this section for at least ninety days immediately</u>
- before relocating to Washington.
- 14 (3) The Tri-Cities and Vancouver branches of Washington State
- 15 <u>University may enroll students for eight credits or less at resident</u>
- 16 tuition rates who:
- 17 <u>(a) Are currently domiciled in Washington;</u>
- 18 <u>(b) Relocated to Washington from one of the nine counties</u>
- 19 <u>identified in subsection (1)(b) of this section within the previous</u>
- 20 <u>twelve months; and</u>
- 21 (c) Were domiciled in one of the nine counties identified in
- 22 subsection (1)(b) of this section for at least ninety days immediately
- 23 <u>before relocating to Washington.</u>
- 24 (4) Washington institutions of higher education participating in
- 25 the project shall give priority program enrollment to Washington
- 26 residents.
- 27 **Sec. 2.** RCW 28B.15.0139 and 2003 c 159 s 4 are each amended to
- 28 read as follows:
- 29 For the purposes of determining resident tuition rates, "resident
- 30 student includes a resident of Oregon, residing in Columbia, Gilliam,
- 31 Hood River, Multnomah, Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla,
- 32 Union, Wallowa, Wasco, or Washington county, who meets the following
- 33 conditions:
- 34 (1) The student is eligible to pay resident tuition rates under
- 35 Oregon laws and has been domiciled in Columbia, Gilliam, Hood River,
- 36 Multnomah, Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union,
- 37 Wallowa, Wasco, or Washington county for at least ninety days

- immediately before enrollment at a community college located in Asotin,
 Benton, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Franklin, Garfield, Klickitat,
 Pacific, Skamania, Wahkiakum, or Walla Walla county, Washington; ((or))

 (2) The student is enrolled in courses located at the Tri-Cities or
 Vancouver branch of Washington State University for eight credits or
 less; or
 - (3) The student is currently domiciled in Washington and:

7

- 8 <u>(a) Was eligible to pay resident tuition rates under Oregon laws;</u>
 9 and
- (b) Had been domiciled in Columbia, Gilliam, Hood River, Multnomah,
 Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco,
 or Washington county for at least ninety days immediately before being
 domiciled in Washington.

Passed by the House March 5, 2009.

Passed by the Senate April 7, 2009.

Approved by the Governor April 21, 2009.

Filed in Office of Secretary of State April 22, 2009.

p. 3 HB 1474.SL