By Senator Pearson

WHEREAS, The Sedro-Woolley High School Cubs won the 2014 2A Division football championship title game in Tacoma, Washington on December 6, 2014, in a hard fought 42 to 13 victory over the Lynden High School Lions; and

WHEREAS, An estimated 3,000 Cubs fans attended the championship game, reflecting the tremendous spirit and dedication to "Cub Strong" pride that has helped propel the success of the team; and

WHEREAS, The Cubs finished the 2014 season with a 13-1 record, winning the championship title for the first time in the school's history; and

WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Head Coach Dave Ward and the management of Sabryna Holt and Katelyn Berrey, the Cubs consistently demonstrated incredible skill, dedication, sportsmanship, and competitiveness throughout their 2014 season; and

WHEREAS, Coach Ward and his assistants, Gerry Oliver, Tim Larson, Kevin Campbell, Edmundo Corrales, Pat Murphy, Doug Preston, and Mike Rooks, have instilled character and confidence in Sedro-Woolley High School players and have done an outstanding job with the Cubs football program; and

WHEREAS, The leadership of Principal Kerri Carlton and Athletic Director Todd Torgeson has helped to bring both academic and athletic excellence to Sedro-Woolley High School; and

WHEREAS, Superintendent Phil Brockman's mission to provide students with the skills and knowledge they need for future learning and success has motivated the football team to set a new precedent for student leadership and work ethic; and

WHEREAS, Players Gavin Holdt, Carter Needham, Davis Mihelich, Dallas Shelton, Spencer Hoover, Wesley Culp, Reid Trammell, Adrian Vasquez, Carter Crosby, Johnny Bute, Devin Willard, Billy Hornbeck, Anthony Cann, Dahlton Osborne, Bryson Bartlett, Thor Wagoner, Bryce Hornbeck, Riley Swartz, Jay Burger, Colton Austin, Eli Chevez, Mason Elms, Cory Wilson, Damian McDougle, James Barney, Quinn Carpenter, Quinten Roppel, Jacob Farrell, Austin Douglas, Austin Edson, Noah Stroosma, Austin Erickson, Jorge Garcia, Chad Wilburg, Jeffrey

p. 1 8637

Barnhart, Jeffrey Jeck, Matthew Meidinger, Isaac Howell, Jared Bowman, Dylan Peterson, Braden Washington, Gabe Torgerson, Riley Gerard, Joey Pittis, Blake Beacham, Erik Lukner, Devin Hutchinson, Drew Aungst, Andrew Engelbretson, Trenton Freiberg, Ben Perusek, and Leo Hanna have devoted countless hours of hard work to their sport and to their education;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate congratulate the Sedro-Woolley High School Cubs as the 2014 football champions of the 2A Division; applaud the team's historic accomplishments and contributions to student athletics and the community; commend the team's players, coaches, and staff for their hard work and dedication; and recognize students, alumni, and loyal fans for supporting the Cubs on their successful quest to capture the team's first championship trophy; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the Sedro-Woolley High School Cubs Head Coach, Dave Ward, Sedro-Woolley High School Principal, Kerri Carlton, and Sedro-Woolley School District Superintendent, Phil Brockman.

- 21 I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate,
- 22 do hereby certify that this is a true and
- 23 correct copy of Senate Resolution 8637,
- 24 adopted by the Senate
- 25 March 23, 2015

- 26 HUNTER G. GOODMAN
- 27 Secretary of the Senate

p. 2 8637