By Senators Dammeier, Angel, Miloscia, Roach, O'Ban, Darneille, Becker, Conway, and Fraser

1 WHEREAS, The annual Daffodil Festival is a favored tradition for 2 the people of Pierce County and the Northwest; and

3 WHEREAS, 2015 marks the 82nd anniversary of the Daffodil 4 Festival, and the theme of this year's festival is "Shine Your Light 5 With Service"; and

6 WHEREAS, The mission of the Daffodil Festival is to focus 7 national and regional attention on our local area as a great place to 8 live and visit, to give the citizens of Pierce County a civic 9 endeavor and to foster civic pride, to give young people and 10 organizations in the local area an opportunity to display their 11 abilities and talents, and to give voice to the citizens' enthusiasm 12 in parades, pageantry, and events; and

13 WHEREAS, The Daffodil Festival began in 1926 as a modest garden 14 party in Sumner and grew steadily each year until 1934, when the 15 daffodil flowers, which previously had been largely discarded in 16 favor of daffodil bulbs, were used to decorate cars and bicycles for 17 a short parade through Tacoma; and

18 WHEREAS, The Daffodil Parade is the highlight of the Festival 19 week. It travels through the four cities of Tacoma, Puyallup, Sumner, 20 and Orting and consists of over 150 entries, including floats, bands, 21 marching, and mounted units. Floats are decorated with thousands of 22 fresh cut daffodils, and the parade is a bridge that links one 23 generation to another; and

WHEREAS, When the Daffodil Parade is over, the Royalty and their float will travel to over two dozen out-of-town parades to represent and celebrate Pierce County; and

27 WHEREAS, This year's Daffodil Festival Royalty includes Pelumi Ajibade, Stadium; Ashley Becker, Bonney Lake; Kenzie Bjornson, 28 Cascade Christian; Kyla Farris, Rogers; Madison Gordon, Wilson; Kasey 29 Hewitt, Lakes; Emily Inskeep, Chief Leschi; Jaskirat Kaur, Emerald 30 31 Ridge; Madison Lindahl, Puyallup; Rachel Price, Eatonville; Bailey Rasmussen, White River; Kaitlin Ringus, Fife; Nicole Ripley, Henry 32 33 Foss; Tia Robbins, Franklin Pierce; Ransom Satterlee, Bethel; Athena Sok, Lincoln; Victoria Ann Tirado, Clover Park; Bailee Towns, Graham-34

Kapowsin; Taylor Trujillo, Spanaway Lake; Samantha Ward, Sumner; 1 2 Sharon Washington, Washington; Shannon Woods, Mt. Tahoma; 3 Madison Zahn, Orting; Lyndsay Zemanek, Curtis; NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate recognize 4 5 and honor the many contributions made to our state by the Daffodil Festival and its organizers for the past eighty-two 6 7 years; and 8 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the 9 2015 Daffodil Festival Officers and to the members of the 10

11 Festival Royalty.

12 I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate,

13 do hereby certify that this is a true and

14 correct copy of Senate Resolution 8645,

15 adopted by the Senate

16 April 1, 2015

17 HUNTER G. GOODMAN

18 Secretary of the Senate