SB 6093

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

As Reported by House Committee On:

Health Care & Wellness

Title: An act relating to adding the Washington State University college of medicine to the family medicine residency network.

Brief Description: Adding the Washington State University college of medicine to the family medicine residency network.

Sponsors: Senators Cleveland, Rivers, Billig, Carlyle, Keiser and Hunt.

Brief History:

Committee Activity:

Health Care & Wellness: 2/21/18 [DP].

Brief Summary of Bill

  • Adds Washington State University's Elson Floyd College of Medicine to the Family Medicine Residency Network.


Majority Report: Do pass. Signed by 17 members: Representatives Cody, Chair; Macri, Vice Chair; Schmick, Ranking Minority Member; Graves, Assistant Ranking Minority Member; Caldier, Clibborn, DeBolt, Harris, Jinkins, MacEwen, Maycumber, Riccelli, Robinson, Rodne, Slatter, Stonier and Tharinger.

Staff: Jim Morishima (786-7191).


The Family Medicine Residency Network (FMRN) was established to help train resident physicians in family medicine. The FMRN provides financial support to residents in programs affiliated with the medical schools in Washington (the University of Washington, Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences, and Washington State University) and establishes positions for appropriate faculty to staff the programs. The medical schools must prioritize support for health professional shortage areas and give consideration to communities where the population, hospital facilities, number of physicians, and interest in medical education indicate the potential success of a residency program.

The Family Medicine Education Advisory Board (FMEAB) considers and makes recommendations on the selection of areas where affiliated residency programs will exist, the allocation of state funds, and procedures for review and evaluation of the programs. The FMEAB consists of the following members:


Summary of Bill:

The Washington State University College of Medicine is specifically added to the FMRN. The Dean of the Washington State University College of Medicine must appoint a member to the FMEAB, who will serve as co-chair alongside the appointees from the other medical schools.


Appropriation: None.

Fiscal Note: Available.

Effective Date: The bill takes effect 90 days after adjournment of the session in which the bill is passed.

Staff Summary of Public Testimony:

(In support) This bill updates statutes to reflect the accreditation of the Washington State University College of Medicine, which puts the school on equal footing with the other medical schools in Washington. This bill will allow Washington State University to participate on the advisory board.

(Opposed) None.

Persons Testifying: Chris Mulick, Washington State University.

Persons Signed In To Testify But Not Testifying: None.