HB 2443

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

As Reported by Senate Committee On:

Higher Education & Workforce Development, February 20, 2018

Title: An act relating to adding the Washington State University college of medicine to the family medicine residency network.

Brief Description: Adding the Washington State University college of medicine to the family medicine residency network.

Sponsors: Representatives Riccelli, Johnson, Cody, Schmick, Kloba, Vick, Ortiz-Self, Peterson, Stonier, Ryu, Tarleton, Haler, Graves, Harris, Stokesbary, Dent, Robinson, Muri, MacEwen, Clibborn, Maycumber, Appleton, Tharinger, Bergquist, Ormsby and Doglio.

Brief History: Passed House: 2/08/18, 98-0.

Committee Activity: Higher Education & Workforce Development: 2/20/18 [DP].

Brief Summary of Bill

  • Adds Washington State University's (WSU) Elson Floyd College of Medicine to the Family Medicine Residency Network and the Family Medicine Education Advisory Board (FMEAB).


Majority Report: Do pass.

Signed by Senators Ranker, Chair; Palumbo, Vice Chair; Hawkins, Ranking Member; Carlyle, Liias, Miloscia, Nelson and Short.

Staff: Kellee Gunn (786-7429)

Background: Family Medicine Residency Network (FMRN). The FMRN was established in 1975 to help train resident physicians in family medicine. The FMRN provides financial support to residents in programs affiliated with the medical schools in Washington—the University of Washington, Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences, and Washington State University—and establishes positions for appropriate faculty to staff the programs. The medical schools must prioritize support for health professional shortage areas and give consideration to communities where the population, hospital facilities, number of physicians, and interest in medical education indicate the potential success of a residency program.

FMEAB. The FMEAB must consider and make recommendations on the selection of areas where affiliated residency programs will exist, the allocation of state funds, and procedures for review and evaluation of programs. The FMEAB consists of the following members:

The deans of the schools of medicine must choose the co-chairs and serve the advisory board without specified term limits. They also have the authority to replace the chair representing their school. Members may serve two consecutive terms. Terms for the nonpermanent members are four years.

WSU Elson Floyd College of Medicine. The Legislature passed SHB 1559 in 2015, which granted the board of regents of WSU the authority to offer and teach medicine as a major line of study, as well as establish, operate, and maintain a school of medicine at the university. The inaugural class of WSU medical students began in August 2017.

Summary of Bill: WSU's Elson Floyd College of Medicine is specifically added to the FMRN. The FMEAB must include a member appointed by the dean of the College of Medicine at WSU.

Appropriation: None.

Fiscal Note: Available.

Creates Committee/Commission/Task Force that includes Legislative members: No.

Effective Date: Ninety days after adjournment of session in which bill is passed.

Staff Summary of Public Testimony: No public hearing was held.

Persons Testifying: N/A.

Persons Signed In To Testify But Not Testifying: N/A.