SB 6093

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

As Passed Senate, February 9, 2018

Title: An act relating to adding the Washington State University college of medicine to the family medicine residency network.

Brief Description: Adding the Washington State University college of medicine to the family medicine residency network.

Sponsors: Senators Cleveland, Rivers, Billig, Carlyle, Keiser and Hunt.

Brief History:

Committee Activity: Higher Education & Workforce Development: 1/30/18, 1/31/18 [DP].

Floor Activity:

Passed Senate: 2/09/18, 47-0.

Brief Summary of Bill

  • Adds Washington State University's Elson Floyd College of Medicine to the Family Medicine Residency Network and the Family Medicine Education Advisory Board (FMEAB).


Majority Report: Do pass.

Signed by Senators Ranker, Chair; Palumbo, Vice Chair; Hawkins, Ranking Member; Carlyle, Liias, Miloscia, Nelson and Short.

Staff: Kellee Gunn (786-7429)

Background: Family Medicine Residency Network (FMRN). The FMRN was established in 1975 to help train resident physicians in family medicine. The FMRN provides financial support to residents in programs affiliated with the medical schools in Washington—the University of Washington, Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences, and Washington State University—and establishes positions for appropriate faculty to staff the programs. The medical schools must prioritize support for health professional shortage areas and give consideration to communities where the population, hospital facilities, number of physicians, and interest in medical education indicate the potential success of a residency program.

FMEAB. The FMEAB must consider and make recommendations on the selection of areas where affiliated residency programs will exist, the allocation of state funds, and procedures for review and evaluation of programs. The FMEAB consists of the following members:

The deans of the school of medicine must choose the co-chairs and serve the advisory board without specified term limits. They also have the authority to replace the chair representing their school. Members may serve two consecutive terms. Terms for the nonpermanent members are four years.

Washington State University (WSU) Elson Floyd College of Medicine. In 2015, the Legislature passed SHB 1559, which granted the board of regents of WSU the authority to offer and teach medicine as a major line of study, as well as establish, operate, and maintain a school of medicine at the university. The inaugural class of WSU medical students began in August 2017.

Summary of Bill: WSU's Elson Floyd College of Medicine is specifically added to the FMRN. The FMEAB must include a member appointed by the dean of the College of Medicine at WSU.

Appropriation: None.

Fiscal Note: Available.

Creates Committee/Commission/Task Force that includes Legislative members: No.

Effective Date: Ninety days after adjournment of session in which bill is passed.

Staff Summary of Public Testimony: PRO: This bill is simple. It adds the WSU College of Medicine to the family medicine residency network. WSU is already working to promote new residency programs. It would join the other two medical schools in the network and advisory board. This bill reflects the continued maturation of the Elson S. Floyd WSU College of Medicine. WSU's first class of mission-driven medical students started in August. WSU has been working on developing clinical affiliation agreements with 32 clinics and hospitals in the state and is looking ahead at working with our partners to develop residency programs. WSU was graciously asked by current members to participate in the activities of this network with the other medical schools, and this bill would provide clarity by officially adding it in statute.

The family medicine residency network has been around since the early 1970s, chaired by the UW School of Medicine. The network is in charge of administering all existing family medicine residency programs in the state. The advisory board is very robust. In 2015, the Legislature provided the network additional funding, recognizing it is the best way to keep doctors practicing in Washington. WSU has already begun working with the network. This bill will make WSU an official voting member to help establish new residency programs.

Persons Testifying: PRO: Senator Annette Cleveland, Prime Sponsor; Chris Mulick, Washington State University; Ian Goodhew, University of Washington Medicine.

Persons Signed In To Testify But Not Testifying: No one.