HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2017-4631, by Representatives Santos, Pettigrew, Fitzgibbon, Haler, Macri, Pollet, Ryu, Senn, Nealey, Chapman, Appleton, Kilduff, Holy, Dent, Johnson, and Graves
WHEREAS, In 1891, the Society of Jesus established the Immaculate Conception Church parish school in central Seattle with ninety students, marking the commencement of a long, rich history of distinguished service in higher education in Washington state; and
WHEREAS, In 1898, Washington state approved a charter to recognize the Immaculate Conception parish school as Seattle College; and
WHEREAS, In 1931, overcoming provincial and diocesan disapproval, Seattle College was one of the first Jesuit universities to admit women as students, many of whom taught in local parish schools; and
WHEREAS, By 1941, Seattle College was the third largest institution of higher learning in Washington state with schools of education, nursing, and engineering; and
WHEREAS, In 1948, Seattle College officially became Seattle University, the largest Catholic postsecondary education institution in the West; and
WHEREAS, Today, Seattle University is hailed as a nationally recognized higher education institution that boasts undergraduate, graduate, and professional degree programs of distinction through the College of Nursing, the College of Education, the Albers School of Business and Economics, the School of Theology and Ministry, the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Law, the College of Science and Engineering, and the preparatory Matteo Ricci College; and
WHEREAS, The Seattle University mission to educate the whole person and to empower leaders for a just and humane world enriches our state and our society through the accomplishments and achievements of notable alumni such as Governor John Spellman, U.S. District Court Judge Richard Jones, Seattle City Councilmember Martha Choe, world-renown mountaineer Jim Whittaker, Seattle Times former president and chief operating officer Carolyn Kelly, attorney and television personality Anne Bremner, Grammy Award winning musician Quincy Jones, Northwest artist and professor Val Laigo, and National Basketball Association All-Time great Elgin Baylor; and
WHEREAS, Throughout the 2016-17 academic year, the entire Seattle University community will engage in special Quasquicentennial events and programs aimed to pay homage to this cherished history and heritage of academic excellence and service to society;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives join in celebrating the 125th anniversary of the founding of Seattle University and recognize the lasting contributions of this irreplaceable institution, its faculty, and its alumni to the strength and vitality of our state and our citizenry; and
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Stephen V. Sundborg, S. J., President of Seattle University.
I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of
Resolution 4631 adopted by the House of Representatives
March 28, 2017
Bernard Dean, Chief Clerk