BySenators Warnick and Wagoner
WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington State Legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and
WHEREAS, The Kittitas Secondary School boys' basketball team exhibited the highest level of excellence in overcoming the competition and winning the Washington State 2B Championship game on March 2, 2019, by a score of 79 to 51; and
WHEREAS, The Coyotes demonstrated spirited play and exemplary leadership in achieving this outstanding accomplishment; and
WHEREAS, The team surpassed the Saint George's High School Dragons for the second consecutive time at the annual Washington State 2B Championship tournament, and became the third team to achieve a 2B basketball "three-peat"; and
WHEREAS, Guard Brock Ravet was named the 2B tournament's Most Outstanding Player for the third time, and finished his career as a Coyote by becoming the state's first high school player to reach 3,000 career points, and assuming the title of the state's all-time scoring leader; and
WHEREAS, Head Coach Tim Ravet and all the Coyote players, Caleb Harris, Justin Hudson, Treyden Wilson, Jesus Velazquez, Bailey Gibson, Christian Mata, Cody Van Dorn, Beau Bryant, Blake Catlin, Dawson Byers, Martin Arreola, Brock Ravet, Kolten Udager, and Nick Patteson share in the team's success by combining outstanding coaching with outstanding sportsmanship; and
WHEREAS, The inspiring individual and team achievements of the 2019 Kittitas Secondary School Coyotes boys' basketball team will always be remembered as a source of great pride by all the citizens of their community and of the state of Washington;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor the 2019 Kittitas Secondary School boys' basketball team; and
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the Kittitas Secondary School boys' basketball team coach Tim Ravet, Assistant Coaches Rocky Gibson and Dusty Hutchinson, Kittitas Secondary School boys' basketball team members, Kittitas Secondary School principal Heather Burfeind, and Kittitas Secondary School athletic director Austin Brothers.
I, Brad Hendrickson, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8637,
adopted by the Senate
March 29, 2019
Secretary of the Senate