HOUSE BILL 1239

State of Washington 67th Legislature 2021 Regular Session

By Representatives Chase, McCaslin, Dent, and Sutherland

Read first time 01/18/21. Referred to Committee on State Government & Tribal Relations.

- 1 AN ACT Relating to establishing the new state of Liberty;
- 2 creating new sections and providing a contingent effective date.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- NEW SECTION. Sec. 1. A separate and independent state is established from the eastern portions of Washington. The new state is named and known as the state of Liberty. The western boundary of Liberty follows the crest of the Cascade mountains and the western borders of Okanogan, Chelan, Kittitas, Yakima, and Klickitat counties. The eastern, northern, and southern borders of Liberty are
- 10 the existing state borders.
- 11 <u>NEW SECTION.</u> **Sec. 2.** (1) Transition committees are established
- 12 to assist in the formation of the new state of Liberty. Each
- 13 transition committee shall be responsible for developing and adopting
- 14 a master plan for its respective policy area to establish the
- 15 government of the state of Liberty. Transition committees are
- 16 established for the following policy areas:
- 17 (a) Executive functions;
- 18 (b) Legislative functions;
- 19 (c) Judicial functions and courts;
- 20 (d) Local government functions and local elections;

p. 1 HB 1239

- 1 (e) Statewide elections;
- 2 (f) Debt;
- 3 (g) Revenue and taxes;
- 4 (h) Infrastructure;
- 5 (i) Transportation;
- 6 (j) Education;
- 7 (k) Ecology and natural resources;
- 8 (1) Public safety and law enforcement;
- 9 (m) Labor and personnel;
- 10 (n) Agriculture; and
- 11 (o) Health care.

17

18

19

2021

22

23

2425

26

27

2829

30

3132

33

- 12 (2)(a) Each transition committee is comprised of four state 13 legislators and one expert, consultant, or other support staff, 14 including an attorney not employed by the attorney general.
- 15 (b) The four legislators on each transition committee are chosen 16 as follows:
 - (i) The speaker of the house of representatives, the minority leader of the house of representatives, the senate majority leader, and the senate minority leader shall each choose one legislator from his or her caucus to serve on each transition committee.
 - (ii) Of the two legislators chosen by majority leadership, one must represent a district that predominately lies west of the crest of the Cascade mountains, and the other must represent a district that predominately lies east of the crest of the Cascade mountains.
 - (iii) Of the two legislators chosen by minority leadership, one must represent a district that predominately lies west of the crest of the Cascade mountains, and the other must represent a district that predominately lies east of the crest of the Cascade mountains.
 - (c) The expert, consultant, or other support staff on each transition committee is chosen by a majority vote of the four legislators on the transition committee.
 - (3) The membership of each transition committee must be finalized within 30 days after this section takes effect.
- 34 (4) The governor shall call the first meeting of the transition 35 committees, to be held within 45 days after the committee membership 36 is finalized.
- 37 (5) Each transition committee must develop its master plan within 38 two years of the effective date of this section.

p. 2 HB 1239

1 NEW SECTION. Sec. 3. This act takes effect immediately upon the United States congress's consent to the formation of a new state of 2 Liberty in accordance with Article IV, section 3 of the United States 3 Constitution. 4

<u>NEW SECTION.</u> **Sec. 4.** The governor shall provide written notice of the effective date of this act to affected parties, the chief clerk of the house of representatives, the secretary of state, the office of the code reviser, and others as deemed appropriate by the governor. 9

5

6

7

8

--- END ---

p. 3 HB 1239