RCW 41.12.030 Civil service commission—Appointment—Terms—Removal—Quorum. There is hereby created in every city, town or municipality except those referred to in RCW 41.12.010, having fully paid police officers a civil service commission which shall be composed of three persons.

The members of such commission shall be appointed by the person or group of persons who, acting singly or in conjunction, as a mayor, city manager, council, common council, commission, or otherwise, is or are vested by law with the power and authority to select, appoint, or employ the chief of a police department in any such city, prior to the enactment of this chapter. The members of such commission shall serve without compensation. No person shall be appointed a member of such commission who is not a citizen of the United States, a resident of such city for at least three years immediately preceding such appointment, and an elector of the county wherein he or she resides. The term of office of such commissioners shall be for six years, except that the first three members of such commission shall be appointed for different terms, as follows: One to serve for a period of two years, one to serve for a period of four years, and one to serve for a period of six years. Any member of such commission may be removed from office for incompetency, incompatibility or dereliction of duty, or malfeasance in office, or other good cause: PROVIDED, HOWEVER, That no member of the commission shall be removed until charges have been preferred, in writing, due notice and a full hearing had. The members of such commission shall devote due time and attention to the performance of the duties hereinafter specified and imposed upon them by this chapter. Two members of such commission shall constitute a quorum and the votes of any two members of such commission concurring shall be sufficient for the decision of all matters and the transaction of all business to be decided or transacted by the commission under or by virtue of the provisions of this chapter. Confirmation of said appointment or appointments of commissioners by any legislative body shall not be required. At the time of any appointment not more than two commissioners shall be adherents of the same political party. [2007 c 218 s 11; 1937 c 13 s 3; RRS s 9558a-3.1

Intent—Finding—2007 c 218: See note following RCW 41.08.020.