HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 91-4648, by Representatives Ogden,

H. Myers, Morris, Peery, Cooper and J. King


     WHEREAS, The State of Washington is the host state for the biennial convention of the Congressional Medal of Honor Society, November 2 through 12, 1991; and

     WHEREAS, The Medal of Honor convention is a national event bringing to Washington State illustrious American heroes from across the country and supported by many of the nation's highest-ranking leaders; and

     WHEREAS, The Medal of Honor, established in 1861, is the highest award given by the United States of America to its military heroes; and

     WHEREAS, The Congressional Medal of Honor Society, an association chartered by Congress, includes the living recipients of the Medal of Honor, and among whom are fourteen distinguished citizens of Washington State; and

     WHEREAS, The City of Vancouver, the host city for the seventeenth biennial convention of the Congressional Medal of Honor Society, solicits the support of all citizens of Washington State in the Celebrate Freedom - America Honors its Heroes program; and

     WHEREAS, All citizens of Washington State owe a debt of gratitude to those who have made sacrifices and contributions to the cause of freedom;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives signifies its support for Celebrate Freedom - America Honors its Heroes program by encouraging fraternal organizations, state agencies, business and labor groups, and civic organizations to support activities related to Celebrate Freedom in their local communities; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Governor Booth Gardner, Mayor Bruce E. Hagensen and the city council of the City of Vancouver, Superintendent of Public Instruction Judith A. Billings, and Director of the Department of Community Development Chuck Clarke.  


I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution

4648 adopted by the House of Representatives March 25, 1991.



  Alan Thompson, Chief Clerk, House of Representatives