HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 91-4696, by Representatives Schmidt, Zellinsky, P. Johnson, Sheldon, R. Meyers and Pruitt.


     WHEREAS, On September 16, 1991, the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard will celebrate its first one hundred years:  A Centennial anniversary; and

     WHEREAS, As one of only eight naval shipyards in the United States, and the first permanent naval shore facility in the Pacific Northwest, the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard has a proud and colorful history.  Originally established as a naval station, the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard reached its apex of employment during World War II, employing thirty-five thousand people, and is often cited as the original home of "Rosie the Riveter"; and

     WHEREAS, The Puget Sound Naval Shipyard was at the center of the national debate over neutrality when, in 1940, the shipyard repaired the British warship HMS Warspite, that had been damaged in action against the German navy; and

     WHEREAS, The current work force of eleven thousand people helps to make the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard the premier aircraft carrier and submarine repair base in the world; and

     WHEREAS, A Centennial Memorial Plaza will be constructed as part of the new downtown Bremerton waterfront development project; and

     WHEREAS, The Puget Sound Naval Shipyard Memorial Plaza will consist of symbolic works by Washington artist Larry Anderson and thousands of personalized bricks and granite squares purchased by individuals, families, businesses, and community groups; and

     WHEREAS, The Centennial Celebration will include a banquet, musical entertainment, United States Navy ship reunions, dedication ceremony of the plaza, and fireworks;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard during its Centennial year; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Robert L. Bray, President of the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard Centennial Committee, and Captain Arthur Clark, United States Navy, Shipyard Commander.