HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 91-4708, by Representatives Silver, D. Sommers, Padden, Prince, Nealey, Mielke, Brumsickle, Ludwig, Orr, Morton, Betrozoff, McLean, Ballard, Dellwo, Hochstatter and Tate


     WHEREAS, Spokane is a city of varied achievements; and

     WHEREAS, The Spokane Chiefs are one of the supreme highlights of the Eastern Washington landscape; and

     WHEREAS, This year the Chiefs proved beyond a reasonable doubt that they are a group with talent, spirit, and strength; and

     WHEREAS, The Chiefs, who captured the Western Hockey League title this year by winning 14 of 15 playoff games, dominated western hockey  with their explosive offense; and

     WHEREAS,  The winning of the Memorial Cup this year, with triumphs over Drummondville, Sault Ste. Marie, and Chicoutimi, capped an already exuberant year of expert skills and skating; and

     WHEREAS, Goaltender Trevor Kidd, scoring members Murray Garbutt, Mike Jickling, Jon Klemm, and Pat Falloon were unassailable in their playing; and

     WHEREAS, Head Coach Bryan Maxwell, General Manager Tim Speltz, Assistant Coach Gary Braun, Athletic Therapist Rich More, Equipment Manager John Hern and players Brent Thurston, Kerry Toporowski, Scott Bailey, Chris LaFreniere, Frank Evans, Mike Chrun, Steve Junker, Mark Szoke, Ray Whitney, Geoff Grandberg, Cam Danyluk, Trevor Tovell, Bram Vanderkracht, Calvin Thudium, Mark Woolf, Shane Maitland, and Bart Cote all gave one hundred percent this season; and

     WHEREAS, The City of Spokane and the state of Washington are proud of the accomplishments of the Spokane Chiefs;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor the achievements of the Spokane Chiefs; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to all of the members and staff of the Spokane Chiefs.


     I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

     Resolution 4708 adopted by the House of Representatives

                         June 19, 1991.



       Alan Thompson, Chief Clerk, House of Representatives