HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 91-4717, by Representatives Schmidt and Zellinsky


     WHEREAS, The Bainbridge Girls Lacrosse Club varsity team captured the 1991 Seattle Area League Championship with an eight and one record; and

     WHEREAS, Lacrosse is a newcomer to the world of organized sports and the Bainbridge Club has been playing for just over five years; and

     WHEREAS, The junior varsity team also showed its mettle by turning in an undefeated record for the season; and

     WHEREAS, The varsity team cocaptains Darcy MacFarlane and Laramie Curran led a team that played competitive games of speed, stamina, and dexterity; and

     WHEREAS, Because the women's game is played with a mouth guard as the only protective equipment, it must be played with strategy, alertness, and quick reflexes; and

     WHEREAS, The five varsity members, Shannon Coultas, Kara Makata, Sydney Schuck, Mary McCormick, and Darcy MacFarlane, selected for the West Coast All American Team will vigorously represent Bainbridge and the Pacific Northwest and Bainbridge Island; and

     WHEREAS, The Bainbridge varsity team also contributed two alternates, Becky Arthur and Darya Swingle, to the All American Team; and

     WHEREAS, The coach, Kaili Liikane, who enthusiastically managed the team and spurred the members on to victory was a player herself when she was in high school; 

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives congratulate the Bainbridge Girls Lacrosse Club for winning the 1991 Seattle Area League Championship and the Bainbridge Island Park and Recreation District for sponsoring the team; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the team coach, the team cocaptains, and the Bainbridge Island Parks and Recreation District.