HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 92-4730, by Representatives Rasmussen, Spanel, Rayburn, Nealey, Bowman, Bray, Tate, Casada, Sheldon, Basich, Morris, Kremen, Roland, Haugen, R. Johnson, Peery, Fraser, Brumsickle, Dellwo, Anderson, J. Kohl, McLean, Hochstatter, Wynne, Moyer and Edmondson


     WHEREAS, Washington's dairy industry is a major contributor to the economic health and physical well-being of the State and its people; and

     WHEREAS, Milk is now the second highest valued agricultural commodity in Washington State; and

     WHEREAS, The dairy industry's importance to the State is being formally recognized as Dairy Day on January 29, 1992; and

     WHEREAS, Karen McKay, a 1991 graduate of Ferndale High School, is proudly representing Washington dairy farmers as the reigning State Dairy Princess; and

     WHEREAS, Ms. McKay is serving an eleven-month internship with the Washington State Dairy Products Commission; and

     WHEREAS, The Outlook family of John and Donna, Jeff and Tina, and Brian Bosma has been honored as the 1992 Washington State Dairy Family of the Year and the winner of the Dairy Federation Herd Management Award; and

     WHEREAS, John and Donna Bosma, now joined by son Jeff and his wife Tina and by son Brian, have worked their dairy farm in the Yakima Valley for the past fourteen years;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives does hereby formally acknowledge and honor the entire Washington dairy industry, and the House specifically pays tribute to Dairy Princess Karen McKay, Alternates Tracy Barnes and Erin Woodside, and the Bosmas, Washington's 1992 Dairy Family of the Year; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Karen McKay and to the Bosma family.


     I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

     Resolution 4730 adopted by the House of Representatives

                        January 29, 1991.





                   Alan Thompson, Chief Clerk