HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 92-4737, by Representatives Heavey, Ballard, Anderson, Appelwick, Basich, Beck, Belcher, Betrozoff, Bowman, Braddock, Bray, Brekke, Broback, Brough, Brumsickle, Cantwell, Carlson, Casada, Chandler, G. Cole, Cooper, Day, Dellwo, Dorn, Ebersole, Edmondson, Ferguson, G. Fisher, R. Fisher, Forner, Franklin, Fraser, Fuhrman, Grant, Hargrove, Haugen, Hine, Hochstatter, Horn, Inslee, Jacobsen, P. Johnson, R. Johnson, Jones, J. King, R. King, J. Kohl, Kremen, Leonard, Lisk, Locke, Ludwig, May, McLean, R. Meyers, Mielke, Miller, Mitchell, Morris, Morton, Moyer, H. Myers, Nealey, Neher, Nelson, O'Brien, Ogden, Orr, Padden, Paris, Peery, Prentice, Prince, Pruitt, Rasmussen, Rayburn, Riley, Roland, Rust, Schmidt, Scott, Sheldon, Silver, D. Sommers, H. Sommers, Spanel, Sprenkle, Tate, Valle, Vance, Van Luven, Wang, Wilson, Wineberry, Winsley, Wood, Wynne and Zellinsky


     WHEREAS, In 1991, the University of Washington Huskies football team carved its name in the annals of college football as one of the great teams in history by finishing the year as the number one team in the nation after completing an undefeated season; and

     WHEREAS, The Huskies capped off their perfect season by destroying the fourth-rated Michigan Wolverines 34-14 in the Rose Bowl; and

     WHEREAS, The team's success, unparalleled in the history of University of Washington football, ensured that the players would join the legends of Husky football, a pantheon that includes Hugh McElhenny, Don Heinrich, Bob Schloredt, Sonny Sixkiller, and Warren Moon; and

     WHEREAS, Consensus Coach of the Year Don James has firmly established the football program at the University of Washington amongst the elite without compromising the integrity of the school that the program represents.  James' seventeen-year tenure at Washington is the most distinguished of any coach in school history.  Having won more games than any coach in Pac-10 history, James is regarded by his peers as the finest coach in the nation; and

     WHEREAS, The teachings and innovative game plans of the Huskies coaches paved the way to success, Defensive Coordinator Jim Lambright, Offensive Coordinator Keith Gilbertson, and the rest of the coaching staff deserve our praise; and

     WHEREAS, The Husky defense terrorized opponents, mercilessly sacking quarterbacks and ravaging running games.  Athletic, aggressive, and attacking, the defense allowed a mere 237 yards, only 67 of which were rushing yards, and a scant 9.2 points per game during the regular season.  The defense was unsurpassed in the nation and was one of the premier defenses in history; and

     WHEREAS, Steve Emtman distinguished himself as the finest player in the nation, winning the Outland trophy honoring the nation's best interior lineman and the Lombardi trophy honoring the nation's best defensive lineman, he was again named the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year and was a consensus All-American as well as the co-MVP in the Rose Bowl; and

     WHEREAS, The Husky offense proved to be an unstoppable juggernaut, an irresistible force that complemented the immovable object that was the Husky defense.  The offense featured a consistent running game and an explosive passing attack. During the regular season, the Huskies averaged 41.9 points and 471.9 yards a game; and

     WHEREAS, Mario Bailey was the most feared wide receiver in the Pac-10 and the equal of any receiver in the nation, he was named the co-Offensive Player of the Year in the Pac-10; and

     WHEREAS, Billy Joe Hobert lead the Husky offense from his quarterback position and was named as a co-MVP in the Rose Bowl; and

     WHEREAS, The University of Washington laid waste to their competition in the Pac-10, dominating from the opening game, a 42-7 rout of Stanford; and

     WHEREAS, The Huskies thrashed out-of-conference opponents, including a 36-21 conquest of Nebraska at Lincoln, a hostile locale where few visitors have ever won; and

     WHEREAS, The primacy of University of Washington football was reflected in the accolades accorded to the team's players, with eighteen Huskies receiving plaudits from the Pac-10 conference; and

     WHEREAS, The devout Husky fans reveled in their team's success; seventy-plus thousand cheered raucously at Husky Stadium for the six home games, and large contingencies supported the team on the road games including tens of thousands who joined the Huskies in Pasadena;       NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor and acknowledge the finest college football team in the United States, the University of Washington Huskies.  The Huskies finished the season ranked Number One in the nation and have brought the first National Collegiate Athletic Association championship to the University of Washington; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to William Gerberding, President of the University of Washington, Barbara Hedges, Athletic Director at the University of Washington, Coach Don James and his coaching staff and the entire 1992 National Champion Husky Team.




                   I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

                   Resolution 4737 adopted by the House of Representatives

                                     February 12, 1992.





                                 Alan Thompson, Chief Clerk