HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 92-4764, by Representatives Jacobsen, Wineberry, Ogden, Wood, Sheldon, Peery, G. Cole, G. Fisher, Basich and Betrozoff


     WHEREAS, In 1981 the Washington State Legislature created the Washington Scholars Program to honor outstanding seniors from high schools in this state; and

     WHEREAS, Three students are selected from each of the state's forty-nine legislative districts for their exceptional academic achievements, leadership abilities, and contributions to their communities; and

     WHEREAS, The students selected for special recognition as Washington Scholars in 1992 have distinguished themselves as student leaders and also through their enthusiastic and energetic participation in diverse activities including music, drama, debate, art, sports, Junior Achievement, and knowledge competitions; and

     WHEREAS, These distinguished students have also contributed to the welfare of those less fortunate in their communities through volunteer efforts with organizations such as the Special Olympics, March of Dimes, Big Brothers, Big Sisters, community food drives, and church groups; and

     WHEREAS, The State of Washington benefits from the accomplishments of these caring and gifted individuals, not only in their roles as students, but also as citizens, role models for other young people, and future leaders of our communities and our state;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honors and congratulates the Washington Scholars for their hard work, dedication, and maturity in achieving this noteworthy accomplishment; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the families of these students be commended for their encouragement and support; and

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to all of the Washington Scholars selected in 1992.



       I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy

   of Resolution 4764 adopted by the House of Representatives

                          March 10, 1992




     ________________________________     ______________________________

            Alan Thompson, Chief Clerk,                   John L. O'Brien,

            House of Representatives                        Speaker Pro Tempore