By Senators Bluechel, Cantu, Johnson, Sellar, Vognild, Anderson, Newhouse, Amondson, Hayner, Craswell, Conner, Bailey, L. Kreidler, Wojahn, A. Smith, Oke, L. Smith, Skratek, McCaslin, Saling, Patterson, Metcalf, Roach, Bauer, Snyder, Rasmussen, Williams, McMullen, Gaspard, Talmadge, Madsen, Pelz, Rinehart,  Murray and von Reichbauer


      WHEREAS, The University of Washington's Husky football team has brought national recognition and honor to the State of

Washington with its victory in the 1991 Rose Bowl; and

      WHEREAS, The individual and team achievements of the 1990 Husky players will be forever a golden mark commemorating the Huskies' centennial year; and

      WHEREAS, The Huskies' 46-34 victory over the University of Iowa Hawkeyes set a record for the most points ever scored by a winning team since 1949; and

      WHEREAS, The skill of Coach Don James' leadership, and the support of his wife Carol, was demonstrated by this third Rose Bowl victory in his career at the University of Washington; and

      WHEREAS, Mark Brunnell's Most Valuable Player performance with one hundred sixty-three yards passing and four touchdowns places him in league with such other great Husky quarterbacks as Warren Moon and Bob Schloredt; and

      WHEREAS, The game-breaking blocked punt by freshman Andy Mason, the two interceptions by Charles Mincy, and the return of twelve starters to the squad next year, portend such national recognition next year that was so well-deserved this year - the best team in the nation; and

      WHEREAS, The courage and determination of running back Greg Lewis in recovering from knee surgery to gain 128 yards in the Rose Bowl victory will be a standard for all Husky running backs to come; and

      WHEREAS, The strength and power of the Husky offensive line led by team co-captain Dean Kirkland produced 408 offensive yards; and

      WHEREAS, The leadership and outstanding play of defensive captains Chico Fraley and Travis Richardson were demonstrated by the Husky defense's play which produced five sacks of Iowa's quarterback, four interceptions, and one recovered fumble, and brought the near collapse of the Hawkeyes' tricky offense;

      NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Washington honor the 1990 University of Washington Husky football team and Coach Don James; and

      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Coach Don James and the entire 1991 Husky Rose Bowl Team.


I, Gordon A. Golob, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1991-8601,

adopted by the Senate February 13, 1991.





Secretary of the Senate