By Senators Niemi and Pelz


     WHEREAS, The Garfield High School boys' basketball team, the Bulldogs, defeated the Redmond Mustangs sixty-three to fifty-one in the Washington State Class AAA championship game held on March 9, 1991; and


     WHEREAS, Garfield High School has won ten state AAA basketball championships, more than any team in state history; and


     WHEREAS, Coach Al Hairston is the first coach in the sixty-eight year history of the AAA tournament to win five state championships; and


     WHEREAS, Head Coach Al Hairston and Assistant Coaches JoJo Rodriquez, Glenn Smith, and Gerald Pleasant energetically guided the strong team composed of seniors Bryant Boston, Derrick Quinet, Joshua McMillion, Rashaan Phillips, Chris Roth, and Robert Starin; juniors LeNard Jones, Donald Hunter, Germaine Harris, Eric Atkinson, and Andre Winston; and sophomore Jarvis Kelley; and


     WHEREAS, The media selected senior guard Bryant Boston as the tournament's most valuable player; and


     WHEREAS, The media selected junior forward LeNard Jones to the Second Team/All Tournament; and


     WHEREAS, The Bulldogs' record for the season was twenty-eight wins and one loss; and


     WHEREAS, The Bulldogs will be playing in Class AA in future years, and this was their last appearance in the Class AAA championship;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the entire Bulldogs' team and its coaches be commended for their outstanding achievements; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Garfield High School, each basketball team member, and each coach.


I, Gordon A. Golob, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1991-8630,

adopted by the Senate March 27, 1991.





Secretary of the Senate