By Senator McMullen


     WHEREAS, The State Class AA Boys Basketball Tournament traditionally showcases exceptionally talented high school teams from throughout the state; and


     WHEREAS, The Mount Vernon High School Bulldogs have an outstanding academic and athletic tradition; and


     WHEREAS, The Bulldogs capped an excellent 1991 season by winning the Class AA State Basketball title on Saturday, March 9, 1991; and


     WHEREAS, The final game showcased the exceptional talent of the team, in an exciting 59 to 52 victory; and


     WHEREAS, The entire community of Mount Vernon has rallied around this team, and the school, in appreciation of the outstanding academic and athletic tradition of all of its teams; and


     WHEREAS, The Bulldogs displayed their prominent team spirit, athletic skill, intensity, and determination in winning the state crown;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate of the state of Washington recognize winning team members Donnie Keltz, Dave Garcia, Brad Johnson, Ryan Kies, Steve Bertelsen, Chad Weyers, Bill Cornelius, Troy Holmes, Mark Hendrickson, Matt Wollberg, Trent Kies, and Todd Thompson; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Senate also recognize and applaud the leadership of Coach Mac Fraser, Assistant Coaches Scott Stromer, Robert Hancock, Doug Maynard, Athletic Director John Boisen, team managers Terry Stephens, Tony Stephens, Randy Dills, and Principal Hal Ellis; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the Bulldogs Head Coach, Mac Fraser, Mount Vernon High School's Principal, Hal Ellis, and to the Student Body President at Mount Vernon High School.