By Senator Anderson


     WHEREAS, Gathering together their individual talents, the girls basketball players from Lynden Christian High School won the state class A tournament in Tacoma on March 7, 1992; and


     WHEREAS, Only through teamwork were Raelene Bajema, Renee Bajema, Carol Byeman, Amy Dirksen, Sara Faber, Tressa Hamstra, Kelly Haugen, Tracy Lenssen, Sally Shagren, Becky Timmermans, Andrea Vander Griend, and Amy Wynstra able to have such a successful season and capture the state class A championship, their third in a row; and


     WHEREAS, Lyncs head coach Curt De Haan and assistant coaches Nadine Carberry, and Keven Van Berkum have helped these basketball players become a team capable and deserving of the state championship; and


     WHEREAS, Young, capable, and competitive, the Lyncs captured a state championship without a single player being named to the all-tournament team, thereby demonstrating that even in the heat of competition, the team as a whole is greater than the sum of the individual players; and


     WHEREAS, New Lyncs and Old Lyncs are all proud of this team and its coaches, and all future Lyncs will aspire to earn their own state championship for the navy and white; and


     WHEREAS, Coaches De Haan, Carberry, and Van Berkum would be the first to acknowledge that no Lyncs sports or academic team would be complete without families, friends, directors, teachers, managers, statisticians, and other members of the school and community giving their whole-hearted support; and


     WHEREAS, Senators individually and as a collective body desire to recognize and honor Washington youth who do what it takes to be the best;


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate hereby recognize and honor the Lynden Christian High School Lyncs girls basketball team for its recent capturing of the state class A championship; and


     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Secretary of the Senate immediately transmit copies of this resolution to each of the above-named players, Head Coach De Haan, Principal Ron Polinder, Athletic Director Harlan Kredit, and the student body president of Lynden Christian High School.