By Senator McCaslin


         WHEREAS,  The degree of competition and interest in girls' and womens' basketball is growing in the State of Washington at all scholastic levels; and


         WHEREAS, The state high school girls' tournaments completed March 13, 1993, demonstrated with spirited play and exemplary sportsmanship the appeal of the sport among the players, students, parents, and fans of Washington; and


         WHEREAS, The most difficult accomplishment in the world of sports is to live up to the high expectations created by an undefeated record and to successfully advance to the ultimate goal of a tournament championship; and


         WHEREAS, The members of the Central Valley Bears girls' basketball team are Lindsay Donaldson, Lisa Lentz, Laura Fralich, Aimee Turner, Alicia Lyon, Emily Spear, Kristen Hepton, Suzanne Boots, Reagan McClement, Tanya Kirk, Joey Asan, and Jacqueline Clark; and


         WHEREAS, The Central Valley High School Bears girls' basketball team from the Spokane Valley triumphed on March 13 in the Class AAA championship game, and, by winning 44-35 over a worthy opponent from Snohomish High School, thereby completed a perfect season record of 29 wins and no losses; and


         WHEREAS, The Central Valley Bears, under the leadership of Coach Dale Poffenroth and Assistant Coach Judy Walters, have brought distinction and pride to Central Valley High School, its students, its supporters, and the entire community;


         NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That in recognition of the outstanding accomplishments of team members and the coach, the Senate honor the Central Valley Girls' Basketball Team.


I, Marty Brown, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1993-8620,

adopted by the Senate March 25, 1993.





Secretary of the Senate