By Senator Gaspard



         WHEREAS, Dr. Vishnu N. Bhatia has dedicated forty-one years of his life in service to the people of the state of Washington as a distinguished member of the faculty of Washington State University; and


         WHEREAS, Dr. Bhatia currently serves as Director of the Honors Program, Assistant to the President, and Professor of Pharmacy, after previously serving as Director of Washington State University's Office of International Education, and will retire from his position this summer; and


         WHEREAS, Among his many honors and accomplishments, Dr. Bhatia was bestowed the Danish Knighthood (Knight's Cross of the Order of Dannebrog) by Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark in 1990 for his contributions to education, culture, and business in Denmark; and


         WHEREAS, During his years at Washington State University Dr. Bhatia has enhanced international relations and the intellectual atmosphere on campus through his vision and high standards for himself, his colleagues, his students, and his university; and


         WHEREAS, Washington State University has recognized Dr. Bhatia by establishing the "V.N. Bhatia Lecture on Excellence in Education"; and


         WHEREAS, The first V.N. Bhatia Lecture on Excellence in Education will be presented on the Pullman campus on Wednesday, March 24, 1993, by Dr. C. Peter Magrath, President of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges;


         NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate hereby honors Dr. Vishnu N. Bhatia for his work, and his years of dedicated service to Washington State University; and


         BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate joins with the people of our state in recognizing the legacy of Dr. Bhatia's academic labors and his unmatched contributions to understanding our place in the world.



I, Marty Brown, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1993-8625,

adopted by the Senate March 24, 1993.





Secretary of the Senate