By Senator Cantu


    WHEREAS, The high level of competition and the enduring tradition of Boys High School basketball is well established in the State of Washington; and


    WHEREAS, The state high school boy's AAA basketball championship tournament completed March 13, 1993, demonstrated with spirited play and exemplary sportsmanship the appeal of the sport among the players, students, parents, and fans of Washington; and


    WHEREAS, The most difficult accomplishment in the world of sports is to live up to the high expectations and to reach the ultimate goal of a tournament championship; and


    WHEREAS, The members of the Mercer Island Islanders' boys' basketball team are David Arigbabu, Terik Brown, Jason Cooper, Grant Farmer, Bobby Fielder, Markus Hallgrimson, Jamal Hill, Steve Howard, Albert Jones, Jeff Knoll, Javier Marin, Keith Passe, Landon Porter, Matt Schreck, Nate Snyder, and Peter Spear; and


    WHEREAS, The Mercer Island High School Islanders' boys' basketball team triumphed on March 13 in the Class AAA championship game, and, by winning 59-54 over a worthy opponent from Ferris High School, thereby completed a championship season; and


    WHEREAS, The Mercer Island Islanders, under the leadership of Coach Ed Pepple, and Assistant Coaches Omar Parker, Aaron Clifford, Bob Sagerson, and Scott Reid, have brought distinction and pride to Mercer Island High School, its students, its supporters, and the entire community;


    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That in recognition of the outstanding accomplishments of team members and the coach, the Senate honor the Mercer Island High School Boys' Basketball Team.



I, Marty Brown, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1993-8626,

adopted by the Senate March 25, 1993.





Secretary of the Senate