By Senators Bluechel and Rasmussen


            WHEREAS,  Martin A. Kamarck was sworn in as First Vice President and Vice-Chairman of the Export-Import Bank of the United States on November 23, 1993, following United States Senate confirmation of his nomination by President Clinton, and had been a consultant to the Export-Import Bank since May 1993; and


            WHEREAS, The Export-Import Bank is extremely important to Washington State's export-dependent economy as the only agency charged solely with facilitating the financing of United States exports; and


            WHEREAS, Washington State has the single most successful Export-Import Bank-sponsored "City/State" export training program, administered by the Export Assistance Center in Seattle; and


            WHEREAS, Export-Import Bank has been very supportive of the Pacific Northwest Economic Region's efforts to build and expand regional cooperation in the field of exporting; and


            WHEREAS, The recently released report of the Trade Promotion Coordinating Committee Working Group, Chaired by Export-Import Bank Chairman Ken Brody, outlines an ambitious program of the Clinton Administration to help states tap into the federal resources available to expand their export markets; and


            WHEREAS, In 1993, The Export-Import Bank of the United States approved ninety-four million dollars in credit applications for Washington State businesses through the City State Cooperative program;


            NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate honor Mr. Martin Kamarck and the Export-Import Bank for their efforts in furthering Washington State's export opportunities and recognize the very successful partnership in this state between the Export-Import Bank's City State Cooperative Program and the Export Assistance Center, which prepares export loan applications for small and medium sized Washington businesses.


I, Marty Brown, Secretary of the Senate,

do hereby certify that this is a true and

correct copy of Senate Resolution 1994-8675,

adopted by the Senate January 10, 1994.





Secretary of the Senate